We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please open on Sundays!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Boojum - Botanic Avenue
Ranked #73 of 1,056 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please open on Sundays!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I always got a Boojum box though recently tried a burrito&it was absolutely awesome.
The guacamole really makes it&I always order an extra portion as its so good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BT1blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Boojum - Botanic Avenue, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi there,
Thanks very much for your feedback and kind words about our restaurant! Just to let you know that our branch on Chichester Street is open 1-6 on a Sunday and we are hoping to open Botanic on Sundays very soon too :)
Kind regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    167
    66
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Needs larger premises - and more seasonings please.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Took my son to Boojums recently and ordered chicken fajita and nachos. Chicken fajita was simply a large chicken wrap - for garnish I ordered onions and peppers plus some sour cream, cheese and guacamole. I'd have gone for some lettuce and salsa too had the girl not wrapped it so fast and passed it to the cashier. The result was disappoiningly bland and tasteless. Just a large wrap with a pile of chicken and rice mostly. No seasoning at all in the chicken mix ( that I could detect) that distinguished it as a fajita. The flavour should be in the cooked meat and garnish should be an arbitrary thing. Son enjoyed his nachos very much though. For a busy establishment there is very limited seating and if you have a wrap (burrito or taco) you need to eat seated as they get very messy a quarter of the way through. I needed a knife and fork to finish. Maybe place the fridge of soft drinks next to the till as they are currently located before you get to the food line and you have to double back from the till if you missed seeing them as we did.
Also, the premises need airconditioning - it was way too warm and stuffy inside, even on a cold day.
Will eat there again though and go for the taco's next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 27twinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Boojum - Botanic Avenue, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi there,
Thanks very much for your review of boojum and your kind words on our nachos. Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your fajita and found it to be bland. Our chicken is marinated in Mexican spices each morning in our kitchens to ensure it contains as much authentic flavour as possible. Likewise, we make all our beans, fajita veg, salsas and guacamole every morning to ensure the flavours are as fresh as possible. If you would be able to provide us with more information about your visit by emailing info@boojummex.com, we will happily look into the specific day you were in and see if something went wrong on this particular occasion and work to change this. Apologies that you felt the server rushed through your burrito, at station 2 the server should always ask which salsa you would like, then offer sour cream and cheese, so if this was not the case, I am very sorry. This is not in line with company policy, as everyone is trained to talk each customer through the menu correctly.

We do have limited space in Chichester Street and unfortunately there is not enough room at the moment for a soft drinks fridge next to the till, but we will certainly keep this in mind if we are ever able to move to larger premises.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you enjoy your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Packing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

You get what you pay for here at this queued out food place.
Its a snack stop ..But its more than a snack.Its an enormous portion of chicken or beef with trimmings a la Mexico wrapped up in a tin foil parcel.
Great value ,messyy eating but thats part of the fun.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liketogetoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best burrito in Belfast”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tried other burrito bars in Belfast but you can't beat boojum! So tasty and filling for a fiver. Love it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Njenkins91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great value and very tasty”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Boojum is very popular with students, such as myself. It has big portions for a great price and its extremely tasty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfizz-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boojum - Botanic Avenue also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Boojum - Botanic Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing