We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best chill ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boojum - Botanic Avenue

Boojum - Botanic Avenue
Ranked #42 of 1,041 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
belfast
Level Contributor
147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“best chill ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

nothing to dislike best chilli ever
loved the freshness of the food
best salsa ever the extra hot one
great staff great fresh good quality food and great value

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSFATTYBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    160
    63
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best burritos in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Never mind Belfast, these burritos are the best I've had. So filling and delicious, this place is amazing. Would recommend it to anyone. Have visited on dates, with family, with friends, and solo; so it basically caters for everything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I go there for lunch (with a wee sneaky beer on the shool day) or dinner when I'm too tired to cook. The staff are really nice and helpful and I like the decor as well (especially the dog in the one in the city centre :-) ).

The food has all the things that should make me hate it... but I love it! It's the only place where I'd have corriander, because it magically just works for me. I used to hate the idea of two carbs in one dish (rice + tortilla) and now I can hardly imagine a week without it. Also a nice selection of some interesting beers (beware, the chocolate stout is 10% alc!).

The only drawback is the queues, but that's what you have to accept with their delicious food! Great value for money as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marysia_Pug_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Milder type Chipolte in Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good large filling lunch. If you are on an extended vacation in Ireland and are looking for something familiar this will do well. Same items and set up so very easy to order, not as spicy, however hot sauce is on the condiments counter.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzbaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boojum is brilliant! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Boojum burritos are the best in Belfast! So many delicious flavours and the staff are super lovely. My fave Boojum spot is Chichester Street, it's generally not as busy than the Botanic one and I like the layout better. The Dublin Boojum is also top notch but a little small.

My one complaint would be that the onions and peppers are mixed, this makes me weep :'( and I feel like it's too much hassle to ask staff to not put any onions in my fajita - especially if there is a large queue though this is a small price to pay for such great food. Oh, I love the rewards system too. I am a proud owner of 3 Boojum tees and realising you have a free Boojum is a beautiful moment.

If I could improve Boojum in any way, I'd love to see it open later at night at the weekend. Not much could top a midnight squishy fat delicious fajita.

And I'd separate the peppers and onions, obviously.

All in all, Boojum is 5* for me.
- Great tasty food.
- Friendly staff
- Lovely atmosphere

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank supercakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boojum - Botanic Avenue also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Boojum - Botanic Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing