We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food Selection”
Review of Zen

Zen
Ranked #223 of 1,060 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Selection”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ate here for the first time last Wednesday. The restaurant has a wonderful City feel with tasteful Oriental decor.

Started with the hostess checking our coats and ordering drinks from the bar, no complaints. Waiter was a bit pushy that we try the Chili Soft Shell Crab starter, but I'm glad we did as it was fantastic. Unfortunately, my boyfriend bit straight into a fried chili on accident, mistaking it as a bit of crab and this pained him for some time. (So, just be careful!)

We then mentioned to our waiter that we didn’t see a Spicy Tuna type roll on the menu, the waiter said he would speak to the chef and promptly returned with a delicious roll prepared just for us. We followed that up with the 21 piece Chef’s Sushi Sampler and were impressed with the quality of preparation and the taste of the seafood. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant. It is quite expensive but when you are craving Salmon Sashimi there is no price too dear.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CarBailey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    183
    71
    62
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Unreal food, best i have had in a long time and the prices is less than i thought it would be. a great night out for my mothers 60th. i will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal - massive menu”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We are here a few weeks ago on a Friday evening at an early sitting in the downstairs part of the restaurant. The cocktails were delicious to start with although could have been blended a bit more as the big chunks of fruit constantly clogged up the drinking straw!
The starters were very quickly cooked and very tasty (Chicken Satay and duck samosas) with nice dipping sauces.
For mains we had a combo of sushi and maki with noodles and tempura. The sushi and maki were nice but portions were very small compared to the price. The noodles were delicious.
Overall an enjoyable meal but there is so much choice on the menu it is difficult for a newcomer to this cuisine to decide what to have and how much to order.
Service was quite good.
Decor and atmosphere were great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodlovertyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“First Class!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

After a long day Zen was the perfect tonic. The vegetarian options were to die for, really superb!
Great decor, superb staff (attentive, helpful, friendly) and really lovely food.
I would consider flying to Belfast just for dinner here, it really was a wonderful experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We only had a hasty, late supper here but it was very good. Lovely food, with friendly and helpful service. We shall definitely return for a more leisurely and extensive experience. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackPudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing