We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was amazing, really good.”
Review of Crumlin Road Gaol

Crumlin Road Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.07*
and up
Guided Tour of Crumlin Road Gaol in Belfast
More Info
$16.79*
and up
City Sightseeing Belfast Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with 48-Hour Pass
Ranked #1 of 229 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Crumlin Road Gaol dates back to 1845 and closed it's doors as a working prison in 1996. After extensive renovations the gaol has re opened as a visitor attraction and conference centre. Today you can take a guided tour of the prison and hear about the history of the site from when women and children were held within it's walls through to the political segregation of republican and loyalist prisoners and learn about why the decision was taken to close the prison.During the tour of the gaol you will be taken by your tour guide to visit the underground tunnel that used to connect the gaol to the Crumlin Road Courthouse, you will get a chance to sit in the Governor's chair, view all the wings from the circle and of course pay a visit to the condemned mans cell before seeing the execution cell where the majority of the 17 men were hanged.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

It is £13 for one adult & one child it is very interesting and really opened my mind to what life was like in the Victorian time, my tour guide Roy was great he really made the whole trip

Thank Vickywilson_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Vickywilson_x,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your Gaol tour. I am delighted to hear that your tour guide made a positive impression. I will ensure the rest of the team are aware of your positive comments.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,424 - 5,428 of 5,917 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

could have been a little more exciting in presentation- guide was a little bland. Detail of information was interesting and informative.

Thank AstridSPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hi AstridSPerth,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your tour at the Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted that you found it informative and interesting. I will ensure the rest of the team are aware of your positive comments.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked for the supernatural short tour for my mums birthday as she loves that sort of thing. I on the other hand don't. It was an interesting tour, the guide told us loads about the jail, as well as looking for ghosts. It is very dark and your imagination can run away with you. Thankfully it was a quiet night for the ghosts and nothing scary happened. They do 4 hours tours where they bring out equipment for ghost finding. The whole night was very enjoyable and very interesting.

1  Thank Macysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hi Macysmum,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your tour at the Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted that you enjoyed it and that your tour guide also made a positive impression. I will ensure the rest of the team are aware of your positive comments.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did a tour of the gaol with the guide Roy, he did an excellent job telling us the history of the gaol and its inmates. Very informative, interesting & a bit spooky! They do paranormal tours some nights for anyone interested in that kind of thing also the occasional gig (johnny cash night looked awesome but was sold out, boo hoo). Overall very interesting and good value for money.

1  Thank gillcweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hi gillcweb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your tour at the Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted that you enjoyed it and that your tour guide also made a positive impression. I will ensure the rest of the team are aware of your positive comments.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Brilliant tour. Interesting history and great to get an insight into such a historical place.
Good public transport.
Recommend the caramel squares from the coffee van!!

Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hi Anne C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your tour at the Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted that you enjoyed it and that your tour guide also made a positive impression. I will ensure the rest of the team are aware of your positive comments.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumlin Road Gaol also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Crumlin Road Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing