We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Belfast
Post
Inbox
Search

“Dinner and drinks”
Review of The Northern Whig

The Northern Whig
Ranked #71 of 1,335 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated at the entrance to the Cathedral Quarter, The Northern Whig provides a memorable dining and drinking experience in the heart of Belfast. With a blend of luxury, comfort and glamour the Whig is dedicated to bringing you the best that Belfast has to offer in all aspects of hospitality with the best in local cuisine and specialist cocktails. We want you to feel at ease and relax. Dine with us, we're open seven days a week from brunch until evening or peruse our extensive list of tipples including our expertly mixed "Cathedral Quarter Cocktails".
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called into northern Whig for a bite to eat and drinks, we were served by Mirek who couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful! Mirek looked after us all night and made sure we got everything we needed, couldn’t speak more highly of him and his customer service!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank petej1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have eaten in the Whig a few times. It has regained it buzz.

Good varied menu but still aligned to local tastes. The quality of food is mixed with good service and bar scene.

The steaks are good, fish was excellent and generally a relaxing and enjoyable eating experience

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank BrendanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This bar has been recommended from a local. We went there for some pints. At first we didnt know what to expect from the outside but were blown away by the inside and the bar. The service is super friendly and the beer is tasty, as usual
This place is defently worth to visit.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank KevKev09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Northern Whig Belfast

My daughter had been telling us about the fantastic lunches she and work colleagues had enjoyed in the Northern Whig.

So tried to give ago one Sunday last month.

We found a Table by the window, Food is served either side of the Bar with Drinks service in the middle of the Venue.

The Menu on a Sunday is different to to the rest of the week so as we planed to share we ordered a selection of Starters

Chicken & Chorizo Risotto Fritters £4.95

Chorizo Bread Sticks £5.25

Buffalo Wings £4.95

Vegetable Spring Rolls £4.95

Chilli Beef Nachos £5.45

Sweet Potato Fries and Skinny Fries

The food was enjoyable tasty, interesting and offered value for money!

The only detraction was the service Dishes were cold and the food quickly lost its heat.
In particular the Nachos were served on an ordinary flat plate that had not been warmed resulting in the food being cold.

HOT FOOD has to served on HOT Plates/Dishes this is fundamental, this has to addressed!

Mirek was a total professional, attentive and motivated, he is an asset to the Business.

Thanks

MichaelD

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Michaeldbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here a couple of times during our 3 night visit to Belfast. Smart spacious comfortable pub with great food. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. AnnMarie was first class.

G&S Beveridge
Musselburgh
Scotland

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank 779georgeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northern Whig also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Downpatrick, County Down
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Northern Whig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing