We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

McHughs Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 1,056 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Verdal, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ordered mussels as starters and pasta for dinner on Arthurs Day'13. The food was excellent and cheap. Although it took quite a while from the order to the serve, and there wasn't that many other guests there. They excused the long waiting time alot before i got my dinner so it weighs up. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merrin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    215
    67
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Got great reviews on trip advisor decided to try”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place had great character but the smell of urine wafting down from upstairs toilets was un bearable the meal itself had soggy chips burger wasn't cooked enough and bap had gone soggy I wouldn't go back or reccomend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely sundry lunch”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch on the 8sept as my friend had been the previous week and went on about it so off we went we had the spicey lentil soup which was nice and creamy due to the coconut milk we then had beef which was moist tasted lovely homemade yorkshire puddings and the oven roasted veg sauce was full of flavour would highly recommend this place for Sunday lunch

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plunked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“lovely food for a bar”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

my friend booked us in for dinner the restaraunt was very busy as thats why it was slow we had soup carrot chilli coconut which had the most amazing flavor my friend had goats cheese mouse which again well presented we then had our mains i had the salmon cooked to perfect my friend had the chicken again well presented wish we had of gone for sweets they to looked good will go back to try the steaks on the rocks

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kennxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique
Level 6 Contributor
687 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Menu is outdated”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I wanted some sticky toffee pudding and noticed that it was on their menu which was posted outside. When we got up to the restaurant, we were told that they don't serve it anymore, that the menu was outdated. Of course, I was disappointed. Our son lives nearby so we did have a drink one evening - it was very busy and you had to go up to the bar to get it yourself. Also, very noisy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MstqMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McHughs Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to McHughs Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing