We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stix and Stones

Stix and Stones
Ranked #27 of 1,043 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

Fantastic restaurant, lovely good, very fresh. Excellent service from Daren, couldn't do enough for us. Food came out quick, perfect portions. We're over visiting from America and thought the experience was top class. The ambience of the restaurant was very relaxed and perfectly located. Superb value for money, will definitely visit again before we go.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBSALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    238
    125
    62
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food but need to look at their service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

We ate here recently for dinner. The food was great and the idea of the restaurant was very good. We were served by different servers who were all polite and explained how the stones worked. As the restaurant was on the quite side I felt our food was rushed on us so that we would leave quicker. After our mains we asked about desserts - and were told that the kitchen was closed and they would have to check if we could have desserts. The waitress came back and said we could make an order for desserts but we would need to be quick. We went ahead and ordered desserts, which came out of the kitchen at record speed. It left the mark on the rest of the good food that went before it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Craic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Food was superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Looks great inside with a good atmosphere even though it was quiet. Serve was fast and had a few different servers throughout the meal. One of the girls was very polite and attentive with great service. Food came so fast and with wine and meal was delicious. We both thought it was some of the best food we've ever had eating out. Hot stones is a fun, different experience. Menu's quite pricey but the special was good value. Definitely one to check out!

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Donaghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best dinner of our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We visited Stix & Stones on the advice of my cabbie, and boy was it a great recommendation. After many disappointments elsewhere on this trip (in London, across Northern Ireland), dinner at Stix & Stones was a welcome treat.

We had been touring Belfast all day, so we did an early dinner - taking advantage of the "pre-Theater" menu. Mains that our party ordered included the beef rump and the tuna steak. Both arrived at the table on your personal cooking iron -- allowing us to cook it lightly or well, depending on preferences. Both the tuna and the beef, as well as the sides, were good cuts and were seasoned with creativity. Desserts were hard to choose from, so we got three and shared - all were excellent.

Service, by the way, was polite, attentive, but non-intrusive. If we'd only had another night in Belfast, we would have dined at Stix & Stones again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great concept but failed to deliver.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

On looking for somewhere to book for our 10th wedding anniversary we decided to go to Stix and Stones. I used their online booking system and booked a meal for the required time, great idea and extremely fast response signed off by Clarke Stewart (Restaurant Manager).
On arrival at the restaurant we were told there was no booking for us? I showed the maître d’ the confirmation e-mail (on my phone) and he then went to get Clarke, who said ”well we’ll have to find a table”. We were escorted to a table by Clarke were the menus were thrown on the table and were left to seat ourselves. Not a great start or impression!
Our waitress came who was very helpful and very pleasant bringing us some water. After looking at the menu we ordered our starters, mains and drinks. Starters came but we had to ask if we could also have our drinks! Food was excellent, I had the chicken wings and my wife had the calamari. The plates were cleared and we awaited our mains on the hot stones, and we waited and we waited 50 minutes later we received our mains (to be far we hadn’t asked or enquired what the delay was) but even still this was extreme. Our waitress actually came and asked if we’d received our meal and this is what speeded the service up.

The food was superb, but you do the cooking yourself so you'd expect it to be. Beautiful steak and my wife had the prawns.

On asking how things were, I explained the delay was way beyond what anyone would expect and also that this was a special night out for us being our 10th wedding anniversary. She said she would pass on our experience to the manager. No contact from the manager to explain why any of this happened.

The bill came, we paid, and left.

With many other extremely good restaurants opened in Belfast we will be giving Stix and Stones a miss in the future, unfortunately.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Baz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stix and Stones also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Stix and Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing