We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Belfast”
Review of Springfield B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Springfield B&B
Ranked #20 of 47 Belfast B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Close to the Belfast”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very handy to Belfast , City centre (10 Mins ) with comfortable room. Breakfast was hot and tasty , and just what was needed to get me started .. A Small family run business so ..not a Hotel ... Staff are friendly ..and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    25
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
26
25
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Kevin could not have been more helpful. Location is a little off the beaten path, but close to the downtown area. Breakfast just right, rooms tiny and crowded but clean. I think Kevin must know everyone and every thing to do in NI! Restaurant and other recommendations were great. Good find.

Room Tip: All rooms are on upper floors (a reality when you stay in historic buildings!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertladypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Room was clean, but very small. Breakfast very nice. Location was good. Kevin was not the nicest we've met. Very abrupt about checking out time , which he forgot to mention when we were checking in. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Do your homework and check all the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean- Frienly-comfortable.The owner very helpful for all direction. Breakfast its was perfect. Information on B&B website all clearly its street parking it was find for us. The room small but very clean and tidy. Good price! We will come back again next hiliday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katietingtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I chose this place based on the reviews of others. This is NO home a way from home! The owner, Kevin, was gruff to me but spoke nicely to my husband offering several suggestions as to where to go and how to get there. The neighborhood was rough, we saw young teens egg a passing car. There is NO parking to speak of - only on the street. The room, a "small double", was tiny and stuffy. You could only pass aound the bed side ways and one at a time. Our luggage had to be piled on the floor near the door. We took turns getting to our stuff. The in room tea cups and spoons were filthy. I got the impression that the linens were not fresh. The shower was too small to raise arms to wash hair. There was a huge amount of air freshener being used for so small a space. I bagged it and put it as far from me as possible. In any event, I woke up sick after a bad night's sleep. Breakfast was no better. All I could manage was tea. Looking around the crowded breakfast area you could see many stuffed animals and other possessions of the owners which were all covered in dust. I've stayed in many B and B's in the same price range. This place did not meet any of my expectations based on other reviews!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank fifehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield-BandB, Owner at Springfield B&B, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Reviewers regularly compliment us on our cleanliness it is of vital importance to us and we take it very seriously. I’m absolutely horrified at your suggestion about the “Linens, cups and spoons” I adamantly dispute its accuracy. Our bed linens & towels are hired from the same supplier as used by the majority of 5*&4* hotels in Belfast. Rooms are cleaned thoroughly when guests leave, fresh bedding and towels are supplied and all cups, spoons, glasses etc are replaced by pre-cleaned items. I certainly would not sleep in an unclean bed so why did you? Why did this guest not bring this to our attention we would have attended to it immediately?
I am never gruff with anyone my mother brought me up to be polite and respectful to everyone, you said yourself that I was polite to your husband so why would I be any different to you?
You saw some kids throw an egg at a car so you condemn all the people of West Belfast as being “Rough” that’s quite a gruff and judgemental attitude for a visitor to assume after less than 24 hours in the area. I strongly reject your criticism on behalf of the good people of West Belfast in fact all the good citizens of Belfast who are renowned worldwide for their hospitality and friendliness. As for parking we are on a main road with an abundance of free on street parking which is fully described on the booking website and on your booking confirmation form at the time of booking as was the description of your room “Small Double” informing anyone booking that room of its limited dimensions plus there are several photos of the room.
You complained about the shower being too small to wash your hair the dimensions of the shower are 900mm X 750mm with 2200mm clearance how big does a shower need to be to wash your hair? You removed air fresheners’ from bedroom and the bathroom, amongst the other complaints you had, you referred to breakfast as being poor; surely this has to be an unfair assessment as you admitted you only had a cup of tea due to the fact you woke up sick. The stuffed animals you refer to are souvenirs’ given by appreciative guests over the last 20 years of providing hospitality, who unfortunately are showing signs of age not dust but I appreciate the gesture from those guests who appreciate your efforts in a trying and difficult occupation.
I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations (I think most places would struggle to) but you will notice from other reviewers as on your own admission so did you, many people compliment us on our cleanliness and hospitality which are absolutely paramount to us, some of our rooms are compact due to the fact our building is over 100 years old and we have installed ensuite facilities, we have no control over that, but cleanliness and hospitality we do and we strive every day to maintain and improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent four night total in this comfortable little B&B on Springfield Road. It is small but its comfortable, clean and the food is excellent. Kevin and June make you feel at home. Kevin was wonderfully helpful in getting us to and from both airports, arranging a city bus tour for us and giving tips on were thing were in the City. Springfry across the street is excellent for fish and chips and Faite Restaurant up the road is delicious. Excellent place to stay if you are new to Belfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at Springfield B&B (Kevin's place) during the World Police and Fire Games! Kevin and June were very pleasant people. Kevin went the extra mile to assure our stay was enjoyable. Rooms were clean. We did not spend much time in the room with so much to do in the area. If you are looking for a large resort hotel type room look elsewhere. But for affordable and convenient accommodations this is the place!

Room Tip: We liked room number six the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OVRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield B&B

Property: Springfield B&B
Address: 16 Springfield Road, Belfast BT12 7AG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly for the best rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Springfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing