We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puzzling Reviews”
Review of McCracken's

McCracken's
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCracken's
Ranked #26 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We booked this B&B on the basis of the positive reviews. After much confusion with the booking over the previous week we booked in early with a friendly Irish lady - the last of our warm Irish welcome as thereafter service was from foreign hired hands. The walk to town was definitely twenty minutes on a rainy afternoon. The rooms were clean and tidy, the shower closets miniscule with shower heads that could not be hung up. Our rooms faced onto the Antrim road which on a warm wet Friday night was extremely noisy until about five am.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank desertrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFFENDEDINIRELAND, owner at McCracken's, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2008

I was very saddened to see this review as with the exception of one French student who works nights all my staff are Irish. From what was written one might assume that with the exception of Gerry all the other staff are foreign.This is simply not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2008

Based on reviews, I booked two rooms for the one night we were traveling through Belfast. I would say that this accommodation is just average compared to other B&B's I've stayed in Ireland.

McCracken's is run as more of a business than a welcoming home for travelers - meaning the rooms are very clean but basic, and it lacks any charm or quaintness that others have. Breakfast in the morning was a typical Irish breakfast of eggs, sausages and bacon, and there weren't really options of anything else.

The location is good - a 10 minute walk to Belfast - and street parking was easy to find within the location.

Gerry was really friendly and allowed us to check in a bit early when we arrived in Belfast and didn't want to leave our belongings in the car.

All in all, if you're looking for a homey environment, this isn't the place. But if you're looking for a quick clean place to stay for an evening, this will work.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SF-Traveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend in April this year and could not fault it. We arrived at 8am and after only a five min taxi ride we were at the B&B where the owners allowed us to store our bags and gave us instructions on how to get to town, which is only a ten min walk with some interesting sights on the way relating the Belfasts past!
Room was clean and bright with own shower room. Only small but perfectly formed and the furniture was of a very high quality. Bed was clean and comfy. There was no noise at night and it was the great spot to rest at night.
No tv in the room but ther was a very comfy TV room with free tea and coffee making items. Again a very sweet room.
The breakfast was also very yummy, much better than any mass produced breakfast you would find in a hotel.
Price's were great and all in all it was a lovely place to stay. I would stay here again if i was to return, without looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corhiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We don't usually stay in B&B's but this one was recommended by a couple we met in Brittany so we decided to give it a go. It is located about 10 minutes walk from the city centre on a main bus route. We had a car and there was plenty of safe, on street parking. Although it is in the heart of the city there is a fabulous walk nearby at Cavehill - it went on for miles but you can just do a mile or so if you choose. The B&B is an old Victorian building but it is very clean and bright inside. The bathroom was small but it was spotless with plentiful supplies of hot water and a powerful shower. For breakfast you share a large table with other guests. This was great fun, as we swopped notes on places to see etc. - the breakfast is substantial, juice, cereal and a full fry. We did not realise there was a contintental option available, which might have suited us better, but after eating so much for breakfast we only needed a light lunch. The proprieter was extremely helpful - she had lots of ideas and recommendations for us, and it was obvious that she really cared about the comfort of her guests. There are good restaurants in the area. We had an excellent meal in the Chester (5 minutes drive) - great value and lots of choice and we would recommend Cassidys ( 3 minutes walk) for a traditional Sunday lunch - good food and friendly staff - I don't know if they serve food every day but we had a super lunch. Overall we were very happy with the warm welcome we received, the comfort and cleanliness of the house, the location and the price. We would return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seandubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,066 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,637 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCracken's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken's

Address: 124 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 2AH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: $40 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing