We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Irish hospitality”
Review of Kate's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kate's B&B
Ranked #37 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine Irish hospitality”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

From the moment we walked into Kate's we felt at home. With a more than adequate room and Kate's warm personality it was a joy to stay there. The house is full of character and we were always greeted by name. With a short walk into town centre and a hearty Irish breakfast in the morning, we couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mancabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    8
    6
    31
See reviews for
10
23
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I have stayed Kate's B&B on a number of occassions and I think it is a great place. I have read some of the criticisms of the house and decor. Whilst taste is subjective I have to say it is always clean and comfortable. Also, it is the cheapest B&B in the entire area so I think people may have unreasibable expectations. Please don't be too hard on a place that does not charge high rates and therefore has little money to reinvest . Those who felt Kate and/or her husband were unfriendly I think must have caught them at a bad time or else misinterpreted their demeanour as I know them to be consistently genuine and helpful. They don't do plastic 'have a nice day' service but they are down to earth, trustworthy, nice people. It's not a palatial mint on your pillow place but it is cheap, clean and run by an elderly couple who try their best.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FWIW1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Contrary to negative postings, we had the best time at Kate's place. The homey ambience and genuine hospitality of Kate and her husband is such a wonderful experience. My sons were so at home with them and Kate went the extra mile to make them feel welcome. The food was great with large servings and they have the best brewed coffee.

Kate even helped us organized our trip and saved us a lot of £££ as tourist not knowing where and how to go, she helped us enjoy Northern Ireland's beautiful places and must see.

Thanks for the wonderful time in N Ireland, Kate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurserecruit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Myself and my friend, Jaz, stayed at Kate's for one night. It was exactly what we'd hoped for and more! The B&B was so cozy and homely. Kate was lovely and welcoming, sort of motherly, and the room was amazing! It had sort of homely decor with free fruit and biscuits, a really comfy bed. Kind of like going to stay at a grandmother's house, a grandmother who is really kind and does her best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I would say it was one of the highlights of our stay! I've stayed in places all over the world, from the Ritz Carlton in Orlando, to the Inn at Harvard in Boston so have quite a good eye for nice B&Bs and hotels. Kate's has character and charm, it's none of your monotonous boring huge chain hotel crap, great value, beautiful location in the leafy suburbs of Queen's. Would go back without a doubt and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaMariaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Have booked to go to Belfast again in May 2010 after a weekend there in March 2008 when we stayed at Kate's B&B. Only writing this because I checked out of curiosity to see if the place was still open and, amazingly, it is still going strong. All the criticisms I have read in previous reviews are absolutely spot on. The interior of the house was like the old TV programme "Rising Damp", only with more dusty clutter throughout. Kate asked us for our money upfront before we'd even got into our room which we'd pre-booked and for which we'd sent a deposit before a few weeks beforehand. We love to stay in B&Bs and I've never encountered an owner with such an attitude and such a grubby house before or since. Gives B&B a bad name.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bedandbreakfastfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I would not recommend Kate's B&B for your stay. We are traveling all around the UK, Scotland and Northern Ireland on business purposes, staying in B&B's, so have seen many different ones. Kate's B&B is on the list of "NOT TO BE VISITED AGAIN".
Owners are friendly, but the way they run their service is horrible.
Old house, outside adv is in bad condition, on first look "owner just does not care", after opening the front door you get a smoke and cat urine smell punch, corridor and all rooms are dark, overfurnished, cleanliness is not too special, cat hairs you can find in your bed as well as in your cup, breakfast (compared to many other B&B's) under average (just half of the typical English cooked breakfast OR cornflakes), the floor in all house is creaking, so you can hear every step of your neigbour as well as you can hear cat behind your door trying to get in . Things need to be fixed are done in an improvising style.
Rooms are non en-suite, shared bathroom and toilet with all floor.
Our company doesn't care much about accommondation for their staff, so they always book this nightmare for us, we often cancel as much as possible.
WE ABSOLUTELY DONT LIKE IT!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndyKa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I stayed for one night in kate's b n b and would never repeat the experience. I suffer from asthma and when I complained that I was having difficulty breathing due to the smoke the owner asked what did I expect him to do about it. When I paid for my room the "house rules stated that there was no smoking that didn't stop the owner and her husband from puffing away in the lounge and stinking out the corridors. The response to my complaint was to go else where ( ay 11p.m. at night). I got out of there first thing I have never encountered such terrible customer service or disregard for guests comfort and well being. Avoid at all costs is your a non smoker!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Collyftb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,278 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Pearl Court Guesthouse
Pearl Court Guesthouse
#16 of 48 in Belfast
158 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Botanic Rest
Botanic Rest
#26 of 48 in Belfast
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenmount B&B
#15 of 48 in Belfast
171 reviews
Namaste Lodge
#23 of 48 in Belfast
19 reviews
Failte B&B
#29 of 48 in Belfast
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kate's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate's B&B

Property: Kate's B&B
Address: 127 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kate's B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kate's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kate`s Bed And Breakfast
Kate`s Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing