We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour of Northern Ireland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dundonald Touring Caravan Park
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tour of Northern Ireland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this campsite for one night on our Tour of Northern Ireland in our camper van - you book in at Ice Bowl where we were given a key (for £10 deposit) for the gate to the campsite about 500 yards away - we were not told that the key was for a large padlock on the gate - seemed like Fort Knox (!) but one of the friendly campers came and helped us get in. Didn't feel like the best area in Belfast when we arrived at Ice Bowl and seemed very strange that the campsite had a large padlocked gate for entry/exit. Toilet block had everything you need - few showers, 2 toilets, small kitchen area with kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge, freezer and public telephone. Plugs for using your hairdryer too which was good. Could have been a bit cleaner but otherwise quiet campsite with very friendly/helpful warden on site. OK for a one night stay but wouldn't want to stay any longer. Think there were buses nearby to the City but didn't investigate further.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I can't understand the previous review! Our experience was very different. Arrived to find secure site with clean, WARM washrooms and a large kitchen area containing micro-wave, toasters etc. The kitchen area also contained a lot of tourist info pamphlets which we found helpful.
We stayed on 2 separate nights - both on arriving in Belfast and just before leaving by ferry( a short journey- about 30mins)
Having read the reviews, I knew to call in the ice bowl reception first. Be aware, if like us you have a caravan, do not drive right down to the entrance from the approach road, as there is only parking for cars there and no through exit that we could see. We found it easy to take the left hand turn (as signposted towards the caravan site ) and then the "passenger" staying with car/caravan whilst the driver waited in the car. You get keys to the 3 locks which secure the site, for which you pay a 10euro deposit. This is returned on your departure. If, like us, you have an early ferry, ask the people on reception who will arrange a key drop off and return your deposit early.
The site is far enough away from the leisure complex to hear no noise from it (though useful for families - especially if its wet) thou there is a little noise from the nearby road- but this did not disturb us. There is also a cinema complex within a very easy walking distance.
Overall, a well organised, pleasant site which we will certainly use again.

Room Tip: We stayed further away from the road - but there was no real problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I don't understand all those positive reviews. The place was not tidy at all at our stay..it was quite the opposite.
In their prospect they describe the place as calm and peaceful- with the road nearby that's not the description I would have used.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lishina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My first stay in this park and will be back.So clean and secure.It,s listed rating should be changed to 4*.Stepped just outside park and got a bus right into the city-centre.Very good bus service.Staff very helpful and courteous.Found the park easy to get to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marylouLimavady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were planning a family camping holiday to see the Giants Causeway and decided to spend a couple of days in Belfast before joining the coastal road. We seemed to have a choice of 2 sites, this one and the one at Jordanstown. Both said they were close to road and the reviews mentioned trafic noise. In the end we chose this one as the Comber Greenway was close by and we were able to cycle into Belfast ( about 6 miles in). Unfortunately the road noise is a problem, particularly as we were in a tent. The road is just over a line of trees and impacts on the whole of the site. In the end, we did all sleep but it was a bit of an issue. On the positives, the shower block was great and the showers were hot and free. The kitchen area had a kettle, micrwave and freezer ( for our cool blocks) and the whole area was very secure. We drove past the second site on our way up to the coastal route - the road there was much busier, so we probably made the right choice!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This must have been the hardest place to find I have ever had to look for. You have to check in at the Ice Bowl (and ice skating rink and bowling alley), and if you don't realise that, you would never find the park. The Ice Bowl had been flooded that day in the worst day of rain in Belfast, but they were friendly and helpful as we booked in, and when we arrived in the park, it was clean, all spaces were on hard ground, with power. Shower block was clean and facilities good. The warden was more than agreeable, friendly and very very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiggyG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

The site was easy enough to find but a bit intimidating as it's surrounded by a 10 foot high fence and trees; and access (both on foot and vehicle) is via locked gates, which I suppose, makes it secure and also child friendly. It is beside a main road so was a wee bit noisy as we (2 adults, 2 kids) were staying in a tent. However, it is tidy and the facilities include: washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge, freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle, free hot showers and the building is spotless.

The on-site warden, William, is a god send - very, very helpful and full of information. eg buses, tickets for attractions etc

Would we stay here again - Yes !

PS: As well as the facilities of the Ice Bowl - there is a David Lloyd centre 5 mins walk away and is great for food !

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank TFC1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#29 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Avenue Hotel
#27 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundonald Touring Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundonald Touring Caravan Park

Property: Dundonald Touring Caravan Park
Address: Dundonald International Ice Bowl | Dundonald, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing