We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Merchant-truly magnificent - again and again”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Portrush
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Merchant-truly magnificent - again and again”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Again please pass on our thanks to all your staff for another superb stay at your hotel. We must stay longer than one night at some point.

Super dinner esp for my vegetarian fiancée , it is so nice to see a hotel put some thought into their veggie menu.

Cocktails made and presented to perfection.

The upgrade into the Lewis suite was completely unnecessary but absolutely stunning, what a treat.

Good luck with the completion of the new chapter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jondob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    298
    140
    86
    63
See reviews for
328
1,354
55
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Unfortunately my visit to the Merchant was fleeting, I was only in Belfast for one night and spent most of that at a meeting however what I did see of this hotel I liked a lot.
I booked the Merchant on the recommendation of a colleague who lives in Belfast and I wasn't disappointed.
My room was fantastic, very comfortable bed and excellent bedding, flatscreen TV, dvd player and i pod dock. You need to ask at reception about wi-fi, you get a card, and you'll need one for each device that you want to connect.
I only got to try the restaurant for breakfast but it's a lovely room and the next time that I use the Merchant (which I will) I'm going ti try it for dinner.
The hotel also has a Rolls Phantom for hire, I did consider it but wasn't sure how I would have categorised it on my expenses claim!
Good quality hotel in a city centre location which I would recommend for business travellers but also definitely for couples.

Is it the best hotel in Belfast? It's certainly the best that I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

If you are travelling to Belfast and have the opportunity to spend that little bit extra on your accomodation then the Merchant hotel is for you. I cannot express how much I enjoyed my stay. I booked a twin room for me and my sister, expecting two pokey single beds with the usual woolen 'rug' for a blanket, boy was I wrong! The room had two huge double beds both with the softest sheets and feather duvets! Everything about the hotel oozes luxury, but the staff are not pretentious! you do feel comfortable in jeans and a t-shirt. The breakfast is delicious, the cocktails are superb- try the bramble. Room service is priced well e.g. a pizza of aprox 10pounds- you can't go wrong! the bathroom was huge with a great rain-forest shower.
I am counting the days to return to the Merchant... the hotel will be the reason for my visit to Belfast!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyVoyagerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Stunning city centre hotel. Celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at The Merchant - thank you for the cake, chocolates and card - very thoughful. Staff like no other hotel staff we have ever experienced, adament to make our stay memorable. Meal in the restaurant was delightful and the breakfast in bed was just as good. Fantastic and friendly tapas bar across the road. 5 minute walk to Victoria Square.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doherty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, the atmostphere was stunning and the service was top class. Best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel. We stayed in a suite and it was excellent, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIrelandSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Spent 2 nights, room excellent, staff excellent, service excellent. Not a cheap hotel, but you pay for service

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbit8602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Fab hotel. Centrally located. The attention to detail was superb with service second to none. Room was beautifully furnished with original pieces of furniture.
I would recommend this hotel if you are celebrating something special and want that extra special treatment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,485 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 44 in Belfast
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing