We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

In spite of having to change our room twice, I would still give the Merchant Hotel a "five" for over all experience, service, location and convenience. The first room change was necessitated immediately by the fact that Chris, the Receptionist, had given us a Victorian room with four downward steps (without banister or night light) leading to the bathroom. When bringing us to this room, Peter, the Head Concierge, noticed my husband's faltering walk and had the kindness to ask if this room would be suitable. We agreed not, and asked to be moved to another Victorian Room. The second room assigned to us by Chris was smaller, definitely of lesser standard, and we didn't realize it at the time, but the windows could not be opened for fresh air. The air conditioning had to be adjusted up and down all night; not the best sleep, although the room was quiet and the bed comfortable. Two nights of this was adversely affecting our opinion of the Hotel.

Therefore for the remainder of our visit, we requested a room in the new Art Deco section. Katie, the Receptionist, selected a new room for us with proper windows, stored our passport cases and luggage until the room was ready, re-delivered our luggage, and notified us by phone as soon as our room was ready. All of this was done cheerfully and efficiently so that we could pursue our planned morning activities. The fresh air was lovely and the room was quiet and comfortable in every respect. The standard was exactly what one would expect from a five-star hotel. We were happy!

Breakfast in the Great Room was a welcomed relief from hotel breakfast buffets. One begins the full English Breakfast with a bowl of porridge or fruit, breads & croissants, fresh orange juice, and ends with a selection of eggs( including my favorite Eggs Benedict), pancakes, or French Toast; all individually prepared to order. The service was impeccable and the historic, glass-domed room is absolutely stunning.

Associated with the Hotel, The Cloth Ear provided excellent pub food after a particularly long day of touring, when we just wanted something quick and simple. The Fish & Chips were excellent! We joined some Belfast friends for dinner the other nights, so I can't comment on the Great Room's dinner,however I'm sure that it is magnificent.

The Merchant's Bar is delightful, with a vast drink selection and friendly bartenders who love to share information about some of the exclusive spirits that they have housed in a display case.

Peter, Head Concierge, was such a genuine, friendly fellow with a wealth of information to share. The Hotel is well-situated in Belfast's Cathedral Quarter, so many sites and shopping centers, as well as the historic pubs and new restaurants, can be visited on foot. Taxis in Belfast are reasonable, and other sites such as The Crown Bar, Opera House, Titanic Quarter, Ulster Museum and Botanical Gardens are but a short ride away if you don't care to walk. It was our fourth visit to Belfast, and we found the location of the Merchant Hotel to be perfect for everything that we wanted to do. The Merchant is a unique hotel and we shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 2,600 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Overall experience is excellent it's just a pity this beautiful building isn't beside a lake or beautiful landscapes as it would make it perfect. Service was excellent. Room was excellent. The hot tub on the roof was hard to get near as it was always full which isn't really suitable or fair on others.
The one thing I wouldn't recommend is the breakfasts containing 1 sausage, bacon, mushroom, half a tomato and two eggs and it came to £43.00 how? I have no idea!! And on top of that there was a £15.00 charge per plate for bringing them up. I know it's the merchant but that really is a rip off. If The merchant wants to keep its customers and reputation then think of the customers getting the experience and value they're paying for and not seeing £££ in they're eyes. I will return but never will I get breakfast again. If you don't want noise I'd recommend the deluxe deco suite :-)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Enjoyed a short weekend break at the merchant and thought the hotel was beautiful.Upon check in our car was parked and we were shownto our room within minutes of arrival. Our room was in the victorian wing and it was it was very well presented with everything you would require for an overnight stay.We spent the evening in the hot tub which was very relaxing and had some great view of belfast.
Next morning we went to the great room for breakfast and this is where i had my only gripe. I think the service here fell slightly below the standard i would expect from this hotel.After being served our cooked breakfast from the set menu no one came back to ask if we would like more tea coffee of juice and the table had no butter left so we had to have jam on toast.I was offered one glass of juice which was small and never offered a refill,which meant i couldnt finishing my breakfast as i was too thirsty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were spoilt and made to feel very special.. It was our 10th Anniversary and were upgraded to an "Art Decor" room as a surprise. Even truffles (6), a Celebration balloon and a lovely card were there for us in the evening. The main feature in the Hotel was the "Great Room" - the dining room. Absolutely spectacular in Victorian style. The Breakfast was delightful and plentiful. A truley memorable stay and one that you would wish other people could experience. 100% luxury without a shadow of doubt. We look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnaDubhda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Have been twice and on both occassions have really enjoyed the experience, from the minute you walk in you feel like you are truly on holidays. The staff are so polite and pleasant and very accomodating if you need anything. It’s a great hotel to get away from the world and really feel rested, you can hide in your room or potter around the city centre which is on your door step.

We stayed in the Victorian room once, and the Art Deco the next time. The art deco was a larger room and minimistic with a walk in shower and a large bath, the wardrobe also had a dressing table well lit up. The victorian room had a bit more warmth to it and was slightly smaller. Personally I enjoyed the art deco more, possibly as it was a larger room, although both were superiob.
We had a cocktail in the bar then descovered there is a cocktail of the day we should have tried as I got lost in the book menu.

On both occassions the gym has been farily quiet and we have never had to wait for the rooftop hot tub. The health area is small but efficient, (and they have straighteners for the girls!!) its great to chill and spend an hour overlooking the city. Mind you on a dull day not much to see but a great experience all he same.

The breakfast was delicious ensure you are hungry. There is a great choice and they even have smoothies and healthy smoothies which are a great addition. Service was attentive, and food was devine, really tasty.

Fantastic treat for an occasion, I cant wait for an excuse to go back again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

For our wedding anniversary we had been given a voucher for The Merchant Hotel. We decided to use this on afternoon tea - and am so glad we did! From the moment we set foot in The Great Room I can honestly say we were made to feel very special and a valued guest. The staff were excellent - attentive but unobtrusive - anticipating every need - just there when you needed them but not there when you didn't! There was a bell on the table that you could ring if you needed attention but this was never going to happen due to the impeccable staff. The afternoon tea was more like a feast of lovely high standard food. Tiny sandwiches, home made scones, a choice of banana bread, lemon bread, fruit bread and beautiful patisserie treats. At £19.50 a head this is money well spent if you need a bit of "me time and spoiling" Didn't want to leave, but will definitely go back for another treat in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dotty167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for our wedding anniversary last weekend, I personally would not rate it as a five star hotel. The room looked grand on the first impressions' the tie back holder on the wall fell off, mattress protector was stained, mattress was stained, scuff marks on walls, dust on the dido rails in bedroom behind the curtains,large sticker on the front of the sink in bathroom. they should maybe have another look at their house keeping..Staff were very good, and food in the great room was excellent. Sad to say that it did not live up to our expectations!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank donnapopo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,421 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 45 in Belfast
1,288 reviews
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#27 of 45 in Belfast
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $207 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing