We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room great service and great food!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second time at The Merchant and were not disappointed again. It's a beautiful building in a very central location. One of the highlights is sitting in the rooftop jacuzzi looking out over Belfast, another highlight is the restaurants. We love dinner in the Jazz Bar always delicious food and good service and breakfast in the amazingly grand dining room. The breakfast is fantastic a good selection of food and large quantities, nice that its not a buffet.
The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms are great and very good room service.
Look out for offers last year we got a meal voucher which we could use in any of their restaurants. This made the whole treat of staying there much more affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,502 - 1,508 of 2,602 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Large clean room. Staff very hospitable. Food good. Pub lively and enjoyable. Upstairs dining and bar fabulous. Good location for City Center. Stayed one night in August. Group had wonderful over all time in what historically has not been my favorite city on the Island. Missed rioting by a week which is always a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEC351650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our travel agent booked this one, Good Job Travel Center Boise ! We were welcomed at the door, car swept away to the carpark, doorman showed us our room, he WALKED us to pubs or restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, making sure we had good seating and service. The room was beautifully done, clean, crisp sheets, good jazz in the bar. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishEwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Took my mum here for a birthday treat and was very impressed with afternoon tea. The staff were friendly and very professional. They catered well for vegetarians (and other dietary requirements) and they have a fantastic choice of unusual teas. I chose the 'Red berry' tea which I found delicious. The staff were very attentive and were happy to refresh the tea pots. The selection of sweets was also great. The decor is beautiful and it really added to the experience. Overall a very enjoyable day out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed overnight recently, we really enjoyed ourselves, perfect location, friendly staff. For a special night out in Belfast you must stay here. Many excellent local restaurants right beside hotel.
Beautifully refurbished building.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdoyle0574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stunning hotel. It's a few months since we stayed but the experience has stayed with us. We chose one of the art deco rooms, but they also have traditional style. Amazing rooms - very much 5-star. We had a very good dinner in the Great Room restaurant, one of the finest dining spaces I have ever seen. We had some cocktails afterwards - the menu was like a phone book! Utterly professional and classy hotel. I will be back.

Room Tip: Art Deco rooms very cool - the traditional rooms stunning too - a personal choice. You will be happy...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Merchant Hotel is in one of those parts of a city that has mature around the Hotel. There are more and more business developing and blooming in this up and coming part of town. This is fantastic for the individual/couple who seek entertainment on their door step but can be the opposite for the visitor who seeks the quite tranquil benefits of a sleepy back street hotel the Merchant radiates during the day. Some of the Victoria style rooms can fall victim to outside party goers. That said Ive used this Hotel a great deal as a business stopover. The newer Art Deco style rooms are amongst the best I've stayed in . Quite, comfortable and all the requirements for both businessman, individual or couple. There is little to fault this hotel. Local and hotel parking, food and drink are right up there. Guest facilities, gym, out side jacuzzi, pool room, wifi are all here. There is no up and down in this hotel, it is constantly a good hub.
for the shopper, its all on your door step along with all of Belfast's great bars and restaurants. For me I book this hotel first, if its all booked out, with a heavy heart I seek an other.

Room Tip: If your looking for plenty of space, comfort and room quite enough to keep the window open, book an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,422 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 45 in Belfast
1,290 reviews
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#27 of 45 in Belfast
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $207 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing