We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited Thursday last for several cocktails and can confirm the standard has not slipped. Excellent service in a relaxed environment set off with a roaring fire. Definitely worth an afternoon visit . Most cocktails are around £9.95 and a service charge applies but what the heck go on treat yourself.

Room Tip: Did not stay on this occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were on a one night dinner. B&B deal. We appreciated the friendly staff, who referred to us by name NOT by room number! Our Victorian room was a reasonable size & very comfortable-- if we were returning we would choose an Art Deco room in the new wing as they looked lovely (much brighter). The Cocktail Bar was a very enjoyable experience--we requested & received a copy of the cocktail menu to take away,this enables us to be fully prepared for our next visit!!! Dinner was in the magnificent surroundings of the Great Room. We found the food very ordinary & would have expected something more adventurous,again if we were to return we would upgrade to the a la carte menu. The service for dinner was rather pretentious. Breakfast was excellent. It was a very enjoyable 24 hours & one we would repeat.

Room Tip: Remember there are no "views" from this hotel. The newer rooms are larger & brighter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjdvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a relaxing drink in this pub on Saturday afternoon after some shopping in Belfast the staff are always pleasant and helpful and I find it a lovely place to visit. Did not have food on this occasion but would highly recommend. Keep up the good work. Will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fox149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

So far, this has been the most perfect stay! At great expense to our husbands,us ladies booked an over night stay, spa treatment and evening meal!
From entering the Merchant Hotel, the reception staff, working under the Front of House Manger are 100% professional, curtious and welcoming.
Our visit to the spa, was an absolute delight! The entire staff of this department made the whole experience one of the best I have ever had.
The Great Hall staff provided excellent service and wonderful food. Finishing our evening with drinks in the Cocktail Bar and Berts Jazz Bar rounded of a trully wonderful stay.
A big thanks to all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis_M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I used this hotel for a customer dinner and training event.
The attention to detail was second to none, the event rooms were truly wonderful and the dinner was excellent.

The staff could not have been more helpful.
If you want a touch of class in the centre of Belfast, this is it. The main hotel is very grand and steeped in history. Add to this this modern efficiency of the function rooms and it makes a perfect hotel for corporate events.

10/10 -Yes we will be bck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at The Merchant on Wednesday night.
It was very good but I really expected so much more from a 5* Hotel.
We had B&B Dinner package.
The accommodation was superb. The dinner was fairly basic....for my taste it was incredibly bland & so lacking in any kind of descriptive powers...you know how you are sometimes drawn by how the menu makes you drool!!
My main disappointment was, as a wine afficianando, my love is a Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc and....believe it or not, for a 5 Star Hotel, they had ONE SB ....one which I do not like at all!!
Couldn't believe it.
Also ordered a bottle of Veuve Cliquot in the Cocktail Bar which was obviously expensive, but had a 10% additional service charge for serving it .....why???
Stunning hotel but I wouldn't quite say 5*

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Blissful stay in wonderful surroundings. All the staff are well trained and very friendly. Spa is lovely and surprisingly spacious for a hotel in the centre of the city. We had the C S Lewis suite which is amazing. Valet parking is very efficient and loved the mint humbugs left in the car for us. Dinner was excellent, bar is beautiful, and breakfast was wonderful. We loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionnualag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 45 in Belfast
1,273 reviews
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,411 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $202 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing