We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Belfast(Belfast)
$137
$116
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$144
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$75
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
$105
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$141
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$73
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ten Square(Belfast)
$113
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,695)
Filter reviews
2,695 results
Traveler rating
2,062
326
149
92
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,062
326
149
92
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail barart decogreat roomafternoon teahot tubcloth earvictorian roomberts jazz barulster bankrooftop jacuzzipure luxuryturn down servicebeautiful hotelhuge bathroomstar hoteltrufflebirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,690 - 1,695 of 2,695 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a relaxing drink in this pub on Saturday afternoon after some shopping in Belfast the staff are always pleasant and helpful and I find it a lovely place to visit. Did not have food on this occasion but would highly recommend. Keep up the good work. Will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fox149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

So far, this has been the most perfect stay! At great expense to our husbands,us ladies booked an over night stay, spa treatment and evening meal!
From entering the Merchant Hotel, the reception staff, working under the Front of House Manger are 100% professional, curtious and welcoming.
Our visit to the spa, was an absolute delight! The entire staff of this department made the whole experience one of the best I have ever had.
The Great Hall staff provided excellent service and wonderful food. Finishing our evening with drinks in the Cocktail Bar and Berts Jazz Bar rounded of a trully wonderful stay.
A big thanks to all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis_M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I used this hotel for a customer dinner and training event.
The attention to detail was second to none, the event rooms were truly wonderful and the dinner was excellent.

The staff could not have been more helpful.
If you want a touch of class in the centre of Belfast, this is it. The main hotel is very grand and steeped in history. Add to this this modern efficiency of the function rooms and it makes a perfect hotel for corporate events.

10/10 -Yes we will be bck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at The Merchant on Wednesday night.
It was very good but I really expected so much more from a 5* Hotel.
We had B&B Dinner package.
The accommodation was superb. The dinner was fairly basic....for my taste it was incredibly bland & so lacking in any kind of descriptive powers...you know how you are sometimes drawn by how the menu makes you drool!!
My main disappointment was, as a wine afficianando, my love is a Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc and....believe it or not, for a 5 Star Hotel, they had ONE SB ....one which I do not like at all!!
Couldn't believe it.
Also ordered a bottle of Veuve Cliquot in the Cocktail Bar which was obviously expensive, but had a 10% additional service charge for serving it .....why???
Stunning hotel but I wouldn't quite say 5*

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Blissful stay in wonderful surroundings. All the staff are well trained and very friendly. Spa is lovely and surprisingly spacious for a hotel in the centre of the city. We had the C S Lewis suite which is amazing. Valet parking is very efficient and loved the mint humbugs left in the car for us. Dinner was excellent, bar is beautiful, and breakfast was wonderful. We loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionnualag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews