We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No "room at the inn" at Christmas for residents in cocktail bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Killyleagh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“No "room at the inn" at Christmas for residents in cocktail bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The decandence of our room (art deco side) couldn't fail to impress. For a "standard" room it was HUGE and as impressive as any suite I've ever stayed in. My friend and I were delighted with our room and felt utterly pampered by the enormous bathroom with walk in shower and free standing bath. Complimentary toiletries of good size and standard too.
Breakfast was excellent and served with panache.
And now to the gripe...
After a hard day Christmas shopping in Belfast my friend and I agreed to meet in the cocktail bar at 5 for a well earned drink.There was not a seat to be had resident or not. I feel this is a fairly relevent complaint. The bar is open to the public and at busy times this must be a common problem. The staff were friendly enough and finally found us a seat in the lobby. This however was not where we wished to be.The delicious olives that are served with your drinks were not forthcoming, presumably because we were not seated in the cocktail bar .
I don't have a solution for this problem but I feel that management should be working on one!
The room rate is such that I feel the very least one should expect is to be able to get a seat in the bar.
That said I feel the hotel is very beautiful and I am proud of its existence in the town where I grew up.

Room Tip: Art deco all the way.Much quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheknowsyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,811
    290
    131
    85
    60
See reviews for
311
1,311
52
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Booked the Merchant because it sounded superb and it was very central to everything we wanted to do. It was everything we expected and more - it really was brilliant and we will definately stay there again when going to Belfast. The room was comfortable, the breakfast excellent and the staff courteous and extremely helpful - what you would expect from a 5* hotel.

We also went into Bert's Jazz Bar for cocktails and dinner and had a great night - again, service, food and very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hibernians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed in the older part & had a double room which had a sitting area and a great bathroom, all really large & 2 TV's! The service was really good, the two young male concierge's were amazing in their assistance to us with a hire car as you can't stop at the hotel and they spotted us outside and were straight out to assist us.

They gave us chocolates and water every night, fresh biscuits and a hospitality tray with lots of choice. The breakfast was in the main dining room all served to you- the room is ornate with a ceiling that has to be seen to be believed. We ate at Burt's Bar 2 nights and the food was excellent. The jazz singer & piano player was good & we enjoyed their performance. We also tried the residents bar & again it was good, with Saturday nights especially being very busy with a good vibe.

For a shoe devotee like myself, to have a Christian Louboutin shop there just to look at everyday was a joy for me, The shops and night life if you want to venture out are a short walk away.

Room Tip: I would suggest you ring & ask them for your specific requests as they would try and accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

A group of 9 of us went to the merchant for afternoon tea on sat 8th dec. We were taken straight to our table & our jackets taken. I was in awe of the decor, absolutely outstanding,the christmas tree was georgeous,& everything else with it. Beautiful chandalier & the ceilings were beautifully decorated. A band was playing as we went in & it was so relaxing & enjoyable. it really gets you into the christmas spirit. It was heaven, we were served our pink champagne & browsed the menu on the variety of sandwiches & delicious sweet desserts,we were treated like royalty.Loved the selection from the cake stands & enjoyed every minute of it. The staff did come over a few times & asked were we all ok & would we like anything else. I cant find fault with any of it, definately would go back, great experience & a real treat. I would definately recommend afternoon tea at the Merchant. Well done to the merchant hotel & staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the merchant for our wedding anniversary in Dec. From our arrival to the concierge an reception we were impressed.
We stayed in the Victorian wing rooms were large airy but not great lighting for touching up your hair etc, but I went between the fab bathroom an bedroom an managed all the same. Very minor gripe I know.
We hada few drinks in the cocktail bar which hada fab atmosphere, and moved onto the cloth ear which was very busy so we decided to try Ollies big mistake it was 3 deep at the bar. Being the hotels own club and after spending a small fortune we wer a bit surprised to say the least that residents had to pay £10 each in but u did get a que jump!! The big plus regarding the Merchant hotel is its location to cathedral quarter bars etc.
Breakfast was fantastic an in beautiful surroundings. We definately would return but I think on an out of peak time that you might feel you are getting more value for money as no doubt there was price increases in room charges for the holiday period.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Of course the room was excellent and the new portion of the hotel has blended perfectly with the existing hotel making the most comfortable accommodation we have stayed in. The most important aspect of any stay in any hotel is the first impression and the greeting was courteous, friendly and helpful from the Concierge and this was maintained by the staff at reception and continued throughout the hotel. Well motivated and all very obviously buying in to the Merchant's reputation. While being very classy there was no snobishness but a willingness to be helpful at every opportunity. Well done and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Skipper Street met all our requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Merchant and again it was fabulous. Rooms are top class, location is brilliant and the staff are so helpful and welcoming. We had a meal in the Cloth Ear bar in the hotel which was delicious and definately value for money. I would recommend the Merchant to anyone and will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing