We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“high tea high class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“high tea high class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

i treated myself and my mum for afternoon high tea with champagne, they do this service in set sessions we went for 3pm on a saturday. It was very busy but well organised, we where seated straight away and our server was very nice helped us with the tea choices. The atmosphere was great and the room is amazing we spent about 2 hours here and could have spent longer at no point did they make you feel that gyou time is up etc. We didnt finish our treats in the tea stand and was offered to have this boxed so we could take away. This came in a beautiful blue and white box with the merchant hotel logo on front just topped off our afternoon was a great experience and would love to do again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo-monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    271
    115
    77
    51
See reviews for
266
1,221
46
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

From entering The Merchant Hotel, until we left, our stay was perfect! I cannot say enough about the rooms we were allocated, the staff were more than helpful, their service was excellent. The dinner and breakfast in the Great hall was outstanding! Can't wait for the next stay!!!!

Room Tip: Having stayed in the ArtDeco and Victorian Rooms, I really couldn't choose between them, would o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis_M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Merchant Hotel is the first I have visited which lived up to its hype. The staff were warm, helpful and gave consistently top class and discreet service which reflects the total experience.
Our room was stylish, the bathroom luxurious and I can honestly say that I slept as well in my hotel bed as I do at home- a first!
We enjoyed cocktails in the elegant Cocktail Bar and breakfast in the magnificent Great room was outstanding in terms of both food and staff.

Great value for money, great experience, fabulous architecture.

Belfast has just become a weekend-away destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was not my first visit to the Merchant - all business related but my wife had not stayed there before and we had a fantastic time from start to finish. We had palnned this stay to co-incide with an Andrea Bocelli concert in the Odyssey - it is within a easy walk of the hotel which is a big advantage as it can be chaos after a big event!
We had a light lunch in the main bar which with an open fire and the opulent surroundings of the old Ulster Bank headquarters - where the vault is now a wine cellar - we started to relax immediately. The room was huge, great views over Belfast and an art deco theme - big bathroom, separate shower and bath - excellent. Before going out we visited Bert's Bar for an early dinner - boy was this something we had not expected - it was excellent we had a mixed starter that would have been enough in its self then chateaubriand steak - that was as good a steak as I have had for a long time - champagne, red & white wine by the glass - a brilliant meal and great steak, service excellent and while it was busy still time for a chat and a catch up with the staff! Back to the bar after the concert anda few nightcaps before bed - perfect! Needless to say the service ambiance and attention to detail were first class and the breakfasts are what breakfasts should be - relaxed great food and no rush. Anything to improve - two small things our tioletries were not refreshed overnight and we had to ask for more. An ongoing issue for me is that in an award winning cocktail bar - I cannot get a perfect G&T! Not cheap but you remember the experience long after you have forgotten the price! We will be back again - best in Belfast

Room Tip: I have been in most types of room in the hotel and there is not a bad one, if you wnat charachter tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch.UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Warm recption on arrival and check out. Upgraded to mini suite (our 48th wedding anniversary) in the Victorian Section. Super accomodation. A light near the tea & coffee would have made it easier to make. Dinner in Bert's was great-hepled by the complimentary glass of champagne from the excellent bar man. Enjoyed the jazz pianist and singer. Card ,balloons & truffles on retiring. Loved it

Room Tip: We prefer the decorArt Deco rooms but could not fault the Victorian
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I think micheal in the dinner roon upstairs was very good he was kind helpful and polite. The room was amazing and the food and drinks where high standard thank you. The staff where very kind and helpful. The place is beautiful inside and met some celebraties there too

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atlantabatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

without doubt the best hotel experience in Belfast. This place oozes class, from the "doorman" - a refreshingly attractive blonde female, to the receptionist, to the delightful bedroom with the comfiest hotel bed I've slept in for a long time, to the bar staff (still smiling as our sing-song by the open fire continued to 5am!), to the restaurant staff who welcomed us with smiles even tho' we were late for breakfast..... Don't expect a cheap night (bottle of beer and a G&T £12). So if you want a treat and don't mind bending the plastic, I'd recommend the Merchant. We'll be back.
B&P

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing