We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What an amazing location - right in the heart of Belfast City... and even more amazing service the Merchant Hotel is an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,535)
There are newer reviews for Merchant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,846 - 1,852 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our anniversary, and what a celebration it was! First of all, the staff are to be commended for all their fine service; each and every one we dealt with were attentive, considerate, and truly nice. Our room was gorgeous, comfortably appointed, and spacious. It was a lovely surprise to arrive back one of the evenings and have a Happy Anniversary balloon and chocolates awaiting us. Dinner in Bert's Bar was absolutely delicious, and again, the maitre d' was great. Breakfast each morning in the plush main dining room was a treat as well, so much to choose from, and equally delicious. This is a beautiful hotel and complimented by the outstanding staff that represents it. Do not deny yourself the opportunity to enjoy it! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cailindana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Having had a negative experience in December 2011, we returned to give the Mechant a second look on a Saturday night. Well what a delight, from arrival to a reluctant departure every aspect of our stay was a delight. We stayed in room 222 and can only say it exceeded all 5 star standards. Huge bathroom, excellent shower. Vast space throughout and very comfortable bed. This is the modern part of the Hotel and the real deal as a 5 Star. We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the Great Room, under the expert service of the wonderful Italian maître d'restaurant. So second time round the Hotel really delivered and we will be back.

Room Tip: stay in the new section.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I went to the Merchant for a weekend, Friday and Saturday night, its location for shopping was fantastic and the hotel itself was amazing, the room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. We found the restaurants to be first rate, food was out of this world and the staff couldn't have been more attentive. I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and have not stayed in better, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to pamper a loved one, whether it is an anniversary or any other special occassion, the option of the Rolls royce Phantom from the airport is a must! We will be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rodger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was a truly fantastic experience. The Hotel is beautiful and the service is second to none. We used the rooftop hot tub abd sauna and also our room was devine. We had dinner in The Great Room and it was delicious. The breakfast was the best we have had in a hotel. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we will return again and again.

Room Tip: We had the Victorian roon [by choice] but I believe the Art Deco rooms are devine too. We had an ins...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clairev-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed for a one night break 'sumptuous Sunday' as a birthday treat. We were not disappointed! From the moment of arrival at reception until home time the service and facilities were outstanding. We made use of the rooftop hot tub, had a beautiful meal in the Great room and finished our evening in Bert's bar. This is the best hotel we have stayed in across many Uk cities and this package was really good value for money. The little added extras and the standard of customer service provided really add to the sheer luxury of the hotel. We would highly recommend the hotel and look forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Art deco rooms - really beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel is absolutely amazing. It is a bit expensive, so if you are not able to stay here at least stop by the bar area for drinks. The bartenders are known for their cocktails.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 44 in Belfast
1,377 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,563 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $208 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing