We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed - a great afternoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George's Market

St. George's Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.90*
and up
City Sightseeing Belfast Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with 48-Hour Pass
Ranked #9 of 221 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not to be missed - a great afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the highlights of our visit to Belfast was a trip to St. George's Market. It is a great was to spend an afternoon. Operating since 1640 this is a great experience which is a favorite of locals as well. It is enclosed and the best place for a lunch adventure, sampling all of the various foods being offered by the vendors. Seating is at a premium in the middle of the market but if you can find a place you might be seated with some locals who will share which foods to try. At noon local bands play. The day we were there we were treated to a trio who knew all of Elvis Costello favorites while we ate a curry platter. You can get any food you want as well as locally created crafts. My husband loved the Cerrickfergus honey I got him.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    294
    51
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday and found a great selection of local produce available, including ready cooked. The seafood available was varied and fresh. Good local meats and organically grown vegetables. You can make up your own meal here by visiting the different stands. There are delicatessens with varied local cheeses, olives, and dips. I mustn't forget to mention the local breads and bakery goods. There is live music to accompany the feasting. Altogether a great year round visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
496 reviews
290 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Bobbins”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

went on friday morning and it's pretty poor imho, very little to see and a strange mix of stalls I wa sexpecting more bric a brac

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A Fun Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

While touring Belfast for one day only, we were steered to St. George's Market and it turned out to be a gem of a find. The market place is located in a covered building. The vendors offer a variety of wares ranging from food to clothing,handmade jewelry, antiques, carvings, and paintings.

It provided for a pleasant morning of browsing. And the many different food items gave a pleasant aroma to the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Texans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Markets as they used to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really excellent market on Saturdays and Sundays, plenty of food, live music, art and artefacts. Great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joncrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George's Market also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to St. George's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing