We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”

Windrush Island Cafe
Ranked #227 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I firstly happened upon Windrush Island cafe before it had officially opened. I popped in and was given a great welcome even though they were still in the process of decorating the restaurant.

The restaurant opened without little fanfare and isn't very well known. I was doing some contracting work for a company that is just a few buildings away on the same street and they didn't know the place existed. This is possibly a good thing for the consumer as the place would be very busy otherwise.

The restaurant has a fairly relaxed casual atmosphere. A lot of the tables are upcycled from old wooden cable reels and she is currently in the process of converting a pool table into a dining table. There are photos of Caribbean scenes on the wall and the owner Wendy who is of Jamacian extraction loves promoting the culture and food of the region.

As others have pointed out, the menu can be quite limited. The main reason for this is that she likes to use fresh ingredients and focuses on doing a few dishes very well. Everything I've eaten has been fantastic though. She also makes some really nice cakes and her hot chocolate made with coconut milk is an especially great way to finish off a meal.

I'd fully recommend a visit to Windrush. The food is of fantastic quality and is great value. It is BYO too, so makes for a great inexpensive night out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindrushIslandCafe, Owner at Windrush Island Cafe, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review , we are glad you enjoyed you evening and we continue to take any advice given seriously. Come and see us again, we are working on upstairs which should be completed in a few weeks. Come the warmer weather we should be able to sit outside and enjoy snow cones and sky juice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
511 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Great value, wholesome caribbean home-cooking, with a warm genuine welcome!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Visited here for lunch this week during a conference at Queen's University which is only a couple of minutes walk away. This is a very warm and welcoming spot, very informal and the owner was very hospitable indeed. I went for the creole stew, with rice and peas and fried plantain, and had rasta brownies with ice-cream to finish. The main in particular was just great and the ingredients had very obviously been sourced and cooked with care. Wow it was tasty! So tasty in fact that I returned for lunch the following day and had Trinidadian dhal, roti, rice and peas, and just superb side veggies (spring and white cabbage, scotch bonnets etc.). The food, and the welcome, were yet again top notch and I felt extremely comfortable tucking into the lovingly cooked food in such a relaxing cafe style environment. If I were based in Belfast I would have lunch here on a regular basis. Great value, wholesome caribbean home-cooking, with a warm genuine welcome!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wee gem :)”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Wendy is a lovely person, made us feel so welcome and a wonderful cook! Loved the decor and music. Had a fab meal and will most certainly be back more often! Highly recommend if you fancy abit of tasty Caribbean cuisine. Yum!!

Helpful?
Thank irish_soul81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely !!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Arrived here on a Tuesday "domino night" !! Dominoes are apparently a common carribean pastime!! We had a set 3 course menu , which was freshly prepared ! Corn fritters dumplings and chicken for starter, jerk fish with rice and plantains ( my wife had jerk pork) and a sweet potato cake with ice cream for dessert! Amazing flavours , great service and price! A hidden gem!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimbomurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a great little place. We went during the week & the food was fresh, tasty & packed full
Of flavours. Waiter was great Craic and even showed us how to play dominos. Will be back & BYO is great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindrushIslandCafe, Manager at Windrush Island Cafe, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
thanks very much for your review, we hope you will visit our upstairs which will open in a few weeks, which will be a chill out spot for coffee and after dinner as well as our cook school.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windrush Island Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Windrush Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing