We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Japanese food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obento Japanese Express

Obento Japanese Express
Ranked #452 of 1,040 Restaurants in Belfast
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Obento Japanese Express is a Sushi and Hot Food takeaway & Sit In restaurant in the heart of Belfast City Center. Delicious Japanese Food.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am Japanese but live in England and I visited with my friend who is also Japanese. We were visiting Northern Ireland on holiday and came across this restaurant by chance. The food is very authentic and very tasty and good value. It was one of the best Japanese food I have tasted in the UK, value for money. The owner is a very nice guy as well. It was so good we went 3 days in a row!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tusky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good to see a Sushi bar right in the heart of Belfast - long overdue. Good also to see a short menu - better to do a few dishes well than lots badly. The bad news is that the food isn't great. I think most of the contents of my Bento Box had been hanging around on a hot plate for too long. One of the reasons why I like Japanese food is that it can be healthy - this menu seems to cater more for the deep fried Belfast palate. Maybe I hit it on a bad day - probably worth visiting to make up your own mind. Sayonara! T

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese and Asian food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I visit here quite often. Great sushi to go or to sit in and their hot food is all great too.ive been to japan and this is the most authentic sushi and bento I have had in belfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary-domino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Vy good ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

If you are the sushi lover, then definitely you have to go here. Over the week, the bar is open half past 8 pm. The quality is good and the personnel is very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank marekjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Obento is a great place to get food with the friendly atmosphere and at most times the seating area being in a quiet lull, having been here multiple times since it opened I have tried quite a few things ranging from their speedy meals for £4.50 which you can sit in and eat or takeaway, to their bento boxes! There is a variety of combinations for both of these, not to mention the varieties of sushi that are prepared fresh downstairs.
They have a range of ready made up boxes of sushi in a fridge as you walk in the door and at time mochi too. A vast variety of different teas and juices is also available.
Service is always quick and friendly and makes it a pleasure to go into the store.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannibalsghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obento Japanese Express also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Obento Japanese Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing