We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of privacy means average rating”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Lack of privacy means average rating”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed at the Malmaison for a romantic birthday treat/celebration in one of the 'Luxury' rooms. As with a lot of hotels these days, the room was cold on arrival. If a hotel knows you are coming, why don't they put the radiators on in the room so when you walk in it is warm and welcoming. The room was nice, very minimalistic and stylish with a good sized bathroom. The major drawback with the room is the door adjoining the next room. It means you have zero privacy; every spoken word, footfall, tea spoon stirring coffee and other 'noises' can be heard as clear as day. I suppose it would be fine if you had no neighbours on the side with the door but with neighbours it means that you know that everything you say/do can be heard by the people next door. Some people may not mind this but we certainly do.

The breakfast was OK, if anything the full breakfast was a bit dry for my taste but the remaining cereals/juices were standard hotel fayre and it was nice ( but at almost £15 maybe a bit pricey). Service was lacking as we walked into the dining room, wandered around for a few minutes looking at what was on offer, then chose our seats with no sign of any staff. We sat for a further 5 minutes before a waitress appeared and asked if she had 'seated us'. Erm no, you didnt 'seat us' as you were in the kitchen for the last ten minutes and we have never met you before - strange thing to say. Maybe it was because it was mid week and quiet but being welcomed into the dining room is expected. One wonders what would have happened if we had not sat right outside the kitchen door instead of being around the corner out of sight.

There is no doubting Malmaison is a stylish, handily located hotel but it reminded us of Morriisons in Dublin - style over substance. And what is that reception all about? it has to be scruffiest front of house ever encountered with all the printers, cables on show under the desks and an adjoining untidy strore room/luggaage area; a real eyesore and not the first thing you want to see when you walk through the door - first impressions count - why not pull the curtain so guests cant see into your junk store?. With more privacy and slightly better service I think it would deserve 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2016-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    441
    230
    106
    60
See reviews for
97
670
48
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jess2808
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed here while attending a concert, room was beautiful, very spacious and spotlessly clean. Staff were great at recommending local bars! Breakfast was the best iv had in years, would go bk just for brekky!!!

My husband used the meeting rooms while we were there and they too were decorated lovely and clean and spacious!! Location great, amazing cocktail list and outstanding staff!!! Definately would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed at Malmaison with the deal of a room for £10 if you spend £75 in the brasserie.
After reading poor reviews of the food we were a bit dubious but felt the deal was pretty good so decided to go for it anyway. The rooms were beautiful. Ok a bit on the small side but really, what do you do in the room apart from leave your suitcase there and sleep?! Bathroom was beautiful and toiletries were a great size - plenty to take home after! Our only negative comment was that the bed was rock hard and pillows really bad quality. We wouldn't normally be fussy as we rarely get to go away to a hotel, and travel lodge is usually more within our budget! However, the bed was so hard, at one point i even considered sleeping on the carpet! Room was fairly quiet and nice temperature and it was decorated beautifully.
Now the food. Food was absolutely fantastic. My husband had the steak which was perfectly cooked and I had the cod fillet with champ. We both ate every last bit - it was gorgeous. For desert I had the white chocolate parfait with dark chocolate grenache and it was fabulous. I have never tasted anything like it and could easily have polished off another! Drinks were fairly pricey - pint of guiness £3.55 and glass of wine £6, but you couldn't really expect much cheaper drinks in a 4star boutique hotel. The service was second to none in the restaurant. Very attentive staff who knew everything the needed to know about the food they were serving.

All in all a lovely visit. Would definitely be back to the restaurant as we honestly couldn't fault it. However i don't think we would stay over again, simply because of the bed issue!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie_daily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Have stayed here a few times and love the hotel, we booked their deal of a room for £30 if you spend another £75 on food and drink. Our starter of french onion soup I would gladly have eaten over chips and cheese at a burger van as it was more like gravy than soup. For mains we had the sea bass which was one small fillet, and chicken with dijon cream. The sauce for the chicken was pure mustard and was so sickly I had to scrape it off and eat the chicken dry. We will stay again as we love the hotel, but will definitely never eat in it again. If the same deal is on, I will ask if we can spend the £75 in the bar.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaffeSpice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed last Saturday night and while I found the hotel ok I specifically want to review the restaurant. The waitress was pleasant and the food was grand. However I feel almost 30 quid for a bottle of average Pinot Grigio was extortionate. Also felt that adding service charge for group of two people was unnecessary. I would have given a better tip if it wasn't forced!!

PS: I was woke every hour with the ringing of the Albert Clock!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmcdonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Didn't actualy stay at this hotel, visited it for a pre-gig dinner as part of a special offer which came with our tickets promising a main course with a glass of wine for £9.95 which seemed like excellent value. How disappointing! The choice of main course has to be taken from 3 or 4 items marked in red on the menu. Side orders are extra. I went for confit of duck leg on a bed of cassoulet beans. The duck was well cooked but the beans were bland and tasteless. The stock they were cooked in was like gravy granules and water - no garlic or herbs to be seen. My wife had the gorgonzola ravioli. Again bland and tasteless with no sign of the normally tangy blue cheese and a sauce like ketchup with cream mixed through. The biggest disapointment was the wine. It was a half glass - not a full glass, and tasted very sherryish - to the point that my wife couldn't drink it at all. I ordered her a glass of sauvignon blanc which was brought to the table - again just half a glass. It was better, but when I went to pay the bill the half glass of wine was £7.25! They also add a 10% service charge to the bill which is in very small writing on the menu. Overall the food was bland and the prices extortionate. Not a very pleasant experience at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themurds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2011

let's get this out of the way....only there for a 70th birthday party meal.
Hotel itself is fine...reception fine...bar ok,but serve a poor pint of guinness.
The food....poor....the service awful....three main courses sent back.....in this day & age!
Waiter very pleasant but didn't know what he was doing.

Very,very disappointed (and angry) after all the great reviews.

Thank you for spoiling our evening.

I left before the bill was paid...i hope there was a great discount....NEVER be back !!

Total shame.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronanbt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#28 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#23 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing