We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the heart of Belfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Belfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Hotel had a great suite in a very functional location. Food in the restaurant was great - premium ingredients on the menu, many locally sources - if a little expensive. Nice ambience in the restaurant.

The bar is one of the best in Belfast - killer cocktails, great bar staff and a nice ambience.

Stayed in a nice, bright modern room so would recommend to anyone coming to Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoodlifeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    422
    225
    102
    60
See reviews for
91
653
46
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

Have stayed at this hotel a few times and have always found it to be of a great standard. Its in a good location near Victoria Square shopping centre and and a variety of restaurants in Belfast. The only downside is there is no parking but you can park in Victoria Square overnight for about £20, or if you live in NI just get a train.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Lovely hotel, such friendly staff, so clean and fresh, top quality bathrooms and so clean,
Bar was busy and friendly, staff were young and all very manerly, located beside large shopping centre, no carpark but we knew this so it wasnt a problem, its also quite a darkly decorated hotel but we loved it! Breakfast was scrummie!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzykDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed in the Goliath Suite on the love suite love package and could not recommend the hotel highly enough. I have staying in a supposed 'suite' in the Fitzwillian Hotel and it has a cheek to call itself a suite compared to Malmaison. The experience and hotel were worthy of a five star rating.
From the moment we entered the Hotel they couldn't do enough for us. The receptionist, who was Australian, was very friendly and efficient and made check in very easy. Decorated in sumptuous purples and blacks the suite, which consisted of three parts, was totally decked out in candles and tealights and there was a chill out CD playing. Champagne was on ice and the chocolate covered strawberries were to die for!
The living are of the suite had a gas fire, TV, dvd player and comfy chairs and settee. The bedroom had a massive bed with feather light pillows. Plenty of hanging space which included the minibar, safe, hairdryer etc. There was also another large TV and Bose sound system. A bottle of still mineral water was provided on each of the bedside stands. The bathroom was stunning and very big with a gorgeous freestanding bath, large shower you didn't want to leave and two sinks. Lovely large bottles of toiletries which included massage oils!
We were due to have a champagne continental breakfast but when we phoned down with a custom order it was no problem to do it and the quality of the food was excellent, as was the champagne!
We didn't have dinner in the hotel but make sure you visit the bar. The cocktail list is excellent so leave some time to try out one or two.
Check out was really smooth and we came away wishing we were staying for longer. I have stayed in the Hilton, Europa, Benedicts and the Fitzwilliam but will be making Malmaison my regular.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 082012gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

Stayed here for two nights with my Husband for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was lovely - really unique. It was a little dark as everywhere is decorated black inside but the staff were really welcoming and the service (reception and restaurant) was excellent. The road at the front is extremely bust throughout the night so I asked to change our room for a quieter one the second night and slept much better. Some of the pillows are like fresh air but they do have firmer ones. Room well equipped with fans, irons etc and gorgeous bathroom - lovely big towels, great toiletries and huge shower/deep bath. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant one evening and breakfast was excellent too. Well situated for sightseeing/shopping in Belfast (Victoria shopping centre well worth a look!). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aurora00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

stayed here for 2 nights, had a great stay really good location, walking distance of good resturants and bars.
room was really comfy, bathroom was spotless with an amazing power shower.
The hotel is quriky and the bar serves great cocktails.
Only negative thing i have to say really is the parking situation, there is no linked car park to the hotel, and you cannot park out the front of the hotel without a parking ticket which we were advised on check in that it would need to be renewed every 2 hours.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davinaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed here as part of a wedding deal in September and I was really impressed from the start. We were landing on the Saturday on a really early flight so were looking for an early check in to our room at 8.30am. the staff were so helpful on the phone and seemed to be sincere when they said they hoped to have us a room for when we arrived. Fabulously they did and I don't know many hotels where you could get that early a check in. The room was a little dark (the only fault) but the location was great, the breakfast was utterly delicious and the bar was a nice place to be.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BordersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#28 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34 - 38 Victoria St, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing