We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malmaison Belfast”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Malmaison Belfast”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

With eight of us staying for two nights something had to go wrong!
Well it did however I must say the hotel looks great. Design and decoration is different than most of the boring modern hotels.
The problems were...
1. Beds are small unless you get an Accessible room where the beds are much wider
2. Cleanliness was poor. One room was not clean with litter on the floor and cups still dirty
3. There is no air conditioning and the fans supplied in each room although efficient are noisy if you need to leave them on all night.
4. Breakfast was a disaster. We arrived in three groups. Four then two then the final two. The two's were served first!, with the four remaining guests waiting 55 minutes for their breakfast. They also waited 30 minutes for their tea/coffee.

Positive points did follow. Our room was changed so we could sleep properly (larger bed) and the eight breakfasts were not added to our bill.

Would we use this hotel chain again? Well, I doubt it in a group of eight however perhaps if just two of us.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for an Accessible room (wheelchair friendly) as they have larger beds. We were on the third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    456
    240
    110
    62
See reviews for
101
696
48
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

What a fantastic concept this hotel chain has, from the first greeting to the cheeky notes on the complimentary goodies in the room you will be smiling for your whole stay at this hotel. Great atmosphere, food and staff. We will definitely be looking for Malmaison hotels when we book any future holidays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked this as a special treat before my husband went away to work....we got a very good price by booking through booking.com £62.30 for room only....when we arrived we were greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist behind a desk that looked like an Internet cafe set up. We were upgraded free to a superior room which was a lovely bonus....the room was very spacious with a massive bed and decorated very unique...the toiletries were different and everything matched in with the decor...a mini bar was provided, yes the items were expensive but the easy availability is what you are paying for....£4.50 for a bottle of Heineken when you pay £3.85 in the bar downstairs isn't that bad.
The room was very warm they provided a fan which we had to keep on all night with the window wide open....the temperature outside was only 18c so I wouldn't like to feel the heat in the rooms in the middle of July and August when temperatures are maybe 23c....some kind of air conditioning does need fitted in the rooms someway.
We had drinks in the bar downstairs to which I have to give a special mention to the 2 bar men Mark & Sean....they made our night and we had good crack with them before retiring to bed. Staff members like these certainly make a hotel stay even more enjoyable.
We had a lovely nights sleep and left feeling refreshed...we didn't have breakfast as we had no time to stay. Checking out was easy enough too no hassle at all.
I would love to stay at the Malmaison again and would recommend it for a special stylish night out in Belfast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend, but didn't use the restaurant. The bar, however, was exceptional, in terms of drinks available and willingness of the staff. It is also a lovely space, with comfortable seating. The hotel room was very nice - couldn't have asked for better - and the position of the hotel is very good for all the attractions. Belfast is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razinha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

When I booked online I was offered an opportunity to upgrade if a superior room became available. I decided to avail of this option. When we arrived in the hotel no mention was made of the upgrade superior room being available. Upon check-out next morning I noticed an upgrade charge for a superior room and an additional sum for £29 for beverages. I queried both charges as in my view we had not been given the upgrade room option on check-in to be told it was automatic. If you are being offered a better room for an additional fee you should at least be given this option at check-in and an option, if you wish to see to see the difference between the standard room and the so called superior room. The beverage charge was incorrectly added to our bill and both the upgrade charge and incorrect beverage charge were removed. The hard sell appears to be this group's modus operandi. We were offered breakfast for an additional fee at check-in and when you log in to the wifi you are offered the opportunity to purchase more items ! The room was littered with tubs of crisps and chocolate bars should you wish to purchase them. I wondered wether we had decided to stay in a latter day brach of Woolworths. My advice - loose the hard sell, remove the tat from the rooms and concentrate on getting the basics right. Loose the drab decor and put proper lighting in the room. Only a bat could attempt to read with the lighting in the room. The air conditioning was abysmal and the room was boiling hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank templeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife treated me to a birthday stay at this hotel. The check in is very informal, initially thought it was an internet station! But this didn't take away from the excellent service we got, arrived 2.15 and room wasn't quite ready but after a 5 min wait we were told we had an upgrade to a superior room, lovely surprise! All staff very pleasant and room was excellent. Bed very comfortable and some useful toiletries. Wouldn't hesitate in going back

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coisty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Unique and appealing decor, exceptionally friendly staff, great food and super location from which to enjoy the city. Would definitely stay here again and plan to investigate other hotels in the malmaison group.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transcending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,204 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#22 of 45 in Belfast
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#24 of 45 in Belfast
206 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing