We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
London
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Nice option”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night at this Malmaison branch and it was very good. The room was clean and modern. The breakfast was also excellent (try the waffles with beacon). The staff was efficient and friendly. The location is also ideal.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear new_world_traveller
Delighted that you enjoyed your time with us - the waffles and bacon are amazing!
Best Wishes
Lisa S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    452
    236
    108
    61
See reviews for
100
684
48
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at the week-end. Great location, very helpful staff, good selection at breakfast. We also ate an evening meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent.
On the downside the place is too dark and the bar area a bit tacky. The bedroom was very dark, including the bathroom making it difficult to do makeup. Corridors also dark so not very welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room if such a thing exists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldocheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear geraldocheshire
Thank you for your comments - great to hear that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your stay with us. I would be interested to hear further comments about the bar - if you would be willing to discuss, please call me 08446930650.
Best Wishes
Lisa S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my fiance and it was lovely. The decor in the main reception and bar is so different and unique. The room itself was lovely too and decorated really well. The hotel is situated in a great location, very short walk to shops and restaurants. Only bad thing I have to say about it is that the room were far too warm!! Even with the temperature control turned right down it was roasting! There was a fan in the room which cooled it down a bit but when we turned it off to sleep the room was hot again within a few minutes. Also we stayed in room 309 and the room next to it was one that the staff used, we were woke up early in the morning with the sound of them working and putting plugs in and out of the wall which was quite frustrating. Apart from that we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mmjj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear mmjj01
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, always appreciate the feedback. We have moved the location of the office, so thank you for mentioning it.
Hope to see you back very soon.
Best Wishes
Lisa S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

What I arrived at reception I was delighted to be offered an upgrade
I found my room to be large not too dark and at the back of the hotel
I ordered the continental breakfast and I was both delighted and amazed with the produce on it
I was not disturbed with noise and I found the whole experience to be very restful
I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Previous reviews mentioned that the front of the hotel had road noise I was at the rear of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine1elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Elaine1elaine
Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you back soon.
Best wishes
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a gig in the black box. Hotel clean, rooms ok, breakfast great. Hotel good location, not five start and needs some money spending on the hotel but ok for weekend. Belfast great city for night out. Hotel bar looked good from distant but never visited. Staff very helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattgoestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mattgoestravelling
Thank you for your comments - great to hear that you enjoyed the Mal breakfast. Hope to see you back in Belfast soon.
Best Wishes
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have only stayed in this Malmaison but really like their quirky, clever touches e.g. the toiletries in the rooms ; artisan products for snacking in rooms and clever promotional campaigns. While we were on a good promotional deal, I can't help wondering if the chain is trying to make up for these deals by overcharging in other areas eg breakfast which at £13.95 for continental and £15.95 for full breakfast, both of which strike me as being overpriced. In addition, I opted for the upgrade option to a superior room for which there was an extra charge, in retrospect this did not feel like good value.

That said,the location is good and staff friendly !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear MelanieS
Thank you for taking the time to feedback through Tripadvisor. The mini-bar items are all new and lovely to hear that you like them. I would be happy to discuss any comments and maybe contacted on 08446930650.
Best Wishes
Lisa S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,183 reviews
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#25 of 44 in Belfast
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#23 of 44 in Belfast
2,842 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing