We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goliath rocked my world!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Goliath rocked my world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

My boyfriend booked a surpise night in a suite here for our anniversary and it was simply the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Huge bathroom, cool decor and music playing as we came into the room. Toiletries excellent. Only negatives were that when we tried to call for room service in the morning there was no answer and there is no parking at the hotel..also the bed was quite short!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KfromBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    421
    224
    101
    60
See reviews for
90
652
46
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

I stayed here with my wife for two nights in the Samson suite and all I can say is wowwwww!!!! Huge American sized pool table, sitting area with plasma tv, dvd player, open fire and Bose sound system. Then there is the separate sleeping area with the biggest bed I have ever seen, another plasma and dvd player, mini bar, chaise-lounge. There are loads of wardrobes, separate WC and an enormous bathroom with deep bath, massive twin shower, sound system and a really funky set of cosmetics like energy patches and hangover cures, a really nice touch that I have never seen anywhere else before. The best thing about the Malmaison group is that we were able to bring our dog to stay too and believe me, she had an absolute ball!!! The staff went goo-goo over her and she lapped it up. We had dinner on one night and being a chef I am really hard to please so I was so happy to be served one of the best meals I have had in a long time, staff were first class and always on hand when needed. The bar is comfortable with big cosy chairs and attentive staff, some people dont like the dark colour schemes throughout the hotel but I found it atmospheric and romantic, my wife told me to say that.

Overall, we loved the hotel and would definitely stay in a suite on a special occasion again and dinner is a certainty.

Thanks to all the staff for looking after us.

  • Liked — Pool table, huge bathroom, great food.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chef007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

Having just returned from a short stay in Malmaisson in Belfast, it so disappoints me that one member of staff can really leave you angry with the hotel experience. In this case it turned out to be a receptionist who was just down right rude and totally unhelpfull on checking out. Standard room was nice but small, quite trendy. Bar was excellent and staff very knowledgeable and served excellent cocktails. Restaurant was first class and very busy for a hotel restaurant. Toiletries in bathrooms also deserve a mention, really good. No car park so had to park out front of hotel and they put a pay and display ticket on the car next morning which meant it didnt have to be moved till 10am, nice touch! So, where the hotel has delievered very well on most fronts, the attitude of one staff member drags the whole experience down to the point that I will not be recommending the hotel to anybody visiting Belfast, too many other good hotels with their entire staff appreciating your business! One word of advise to anybody visiting any Malmaisson hotel, when you sign that little slip of paper on check in, read all the small print on it first!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — front desk
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrickaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

I stayed here alone for the weekend, on a shopping break. This hotel is right near the main shopping areas. A couple of minutes walk from the Victoria Square shopping centre. The hotel room was very plush decorated in dark reds and browns (very opulent). It was dark and cosy with curtains closed and lamps on, but bright during the day with large floor to ceiling windows on 2 main walls. Free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a mini bar. Flat screen TV, lovely shower and great toiletries. I could not have hoped for a better more convenient hotel to spend the weekend. The breakfast was fine but a little overpriced.

  • Liked — The room and tasty room service menu
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

I don't understand the other comments on the site in light of our hugely disappointing stay in this hotel. We were left with a bad taste in our mouth from what was planned to be a special romantic weekend away, as the experience disappointed on every level. We booked a 'superior deluxe' room but the room was smaller than the 3star hotel i stay in with my work every week. When we complained that the room did not refect the description on our booking we were told that it was a "smaller superior deluxe" room and though we checked in at 6pm it wasn't possible to move room. After raising a major fuss which i've never done before, we did get a discount on the rate but it was still expensive in comparison to other hotels in the UK and Ireland. Food was ok, failed to excite. Lobby/bar had a good atmosphere at night though everyone was being frustrated by the slow service. Altogether just a disappointing expensive experience for what we'd hoped would have been a special getaway weekend.

  • Disliked — Poor value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Modigliani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

I booked the Malmaison Belfast after hearing so many good reviews. Upon arrival we where told we were getting upgraded from the Goliath suite to the Samson suite. The suite was amazing with its 7ft bed, real fire, double sink and shower, rolltop bath, snooker table, 2 plasma tvs, corner sofa, remote control window blinds and extra toilet. The duty manager then brought us up chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne. The staff were really friendly and helpful even though they were trying to see to the needs of Girls Aloud who were also staying at the hotel. The food was delicious and room service really fast. We ordered our breakfasts up to the samson suite which arrived in a hamper style basket! Overall a great hotel and i will be back!

  • Liked — The Samson Suite
  • Disliked — The soup starter-mushroom-wasn't nice!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CARNMANORLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

Seen this hotel chain (Newcastle, UK) reviewed on an Irish travel show and they raved about it, so we decided to stay in the Malmaison Belfast while taking in a show in the Odyssey arena. First off there is no parking which we didn't think to check before arrriving however there are a few carparks in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The decor is very dark so if your taste is lots of natural light this would not suit also it could be kept cleaner (stains on cushions, rips on pillow cases, dust etc.)
The room itself was perfectly adequate everything you would expect. As regards food we opted to eat in the bar and while the menu wasn't very extensive the food was lovely, weak on the desserts though!! Noisy to the back of the hotel early on saturday morning as rubbish was being collected at 7.30am.!!!
Overall this hotel was fine but nothing spectacular. It is located very well in the city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor lighting
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JBKKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34 - 38 Victoria St, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing