We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and very impressed with everything. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient, and nothing was "too much trouble". Rooms were great - comfortable bed, fantastic bathroom with bath & shower, and fabulous toiletries!. Tea / coffee + biscuits in room, a really good touch, with a great selection of teas/coffees available.
TV had superb selection of channels, inc sky / skysports, and FREE WIFI (why don't other hotels in Belfast offer this in rooms)?
Breakfast was superb - great choice of Continental or Full English/Irish, and cooked to perfection!
Bar was very friendly, good selection of bar meals available, and staff again were fantastic.
Can't wait to return in a few weeks time - this will be my preferred hotel for sure!

Will definitely use Malmaison Belfast again, and would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 104 has a very bright halogen type light opposite from the bank building, which did stay on, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyn v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    429
    229
    105
    60
See reviews for
94
659
47
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

To set the scene, I was in a group that booked 5 or 6 rooms, so a considerable spend.

I mistakenly booked a double room instead of a twin. I realised my mistake straight away and emailed the hotel, who were useless. As I booked through a 3rd party, they refused to help. Perhaps I would have booked direct if it wasn't such a rip off?!

When I arrived at the hotel, I again enquired. The answer was now "hotel was full". I asked about a spare bed... Was told this would cost me £30! Obviously, guest satisfaction is now high on the priority list for this hotel.

The room itself was well furnished and nice. Lots of high quality supplies such as coffee, shower gel etc. The room was modern and 'moody' ... I liked! No issues with cleanliness etc.

This is a nice hotel, located close to the vibrant Cathedral quarter but the service was not good enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddy0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a lovely night I spent at the Belfast Malmaison - the room on the second floor was georgeous and very bright and spacious. A huge bed on which I had a wonderful sleep... everything was added to give it that smooth boutiquey feeling with extra cushions wine and bathroom smellies. We ate in the hotel restuarant which was lovely - enough space between tables for privacy but yet we talked to our american neighbours... the seats were lovely and comfortable. I finished with 'Malathon' a new take on the old marathon/snickers bar - I must admit while yummy I could hardly finish it. The staff at all times knew the food inside out and made recomemdnations....delicious New Zealand Pinot Grigiot ! I disagree with other reviews on price - put simply you get what you pay for and good service has to be paid for.

Breakfast was scrumptious and service very attentive. I had the english muffins with egg and saugage... Oh and I ordered porridge which was cooked to perfection. I was already a fan of the Malmaison Bar and its convenience to the city centre...now Im no longer a Malmaison hotel virgin and glad of it! Enjoy your stay there its cool, eclectic, has a chilled vibe and very, very smooth ! :-)

Room Tip: If you are new to the city and want a quirky restuarnat minutes away on foot from the hotel - try Mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pupumann0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just checked out of Belfast Mal. After journey from hell to get to Belfast the team there could not do enough to make our weekend stay as enjoyable as possible. Truly outstanding service. Food in Bistro on Sat night was delightful, only topped off by again amazing service. Big thank you to all the team in Belfast. Highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_lodge1_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is mostly what you would expect for the star rating and price bracket. The room is minimalist, spacious enough and clean. The restaurant serves reasonable food at inflated prices. The bathroom is nice and the shower is good. The staff are friendly and efficient. The main issue I had with this hotel was, honestly, the lighting. It is turned down throughout the hotel to a level best described as "seductive". That's fine if seduction is on the agenda. However, if you are a grumpy middle aged lawyer on a business trip and with a pile of paperwork, who cannot find her reading glasses, this is less then ideal.

When I mentioned to a friend (another grumpy middle aged lawyer) where I'd been staying, he said "Ah, the Malmaison. Tell me, how did you find the lighting?" But then added, very fairly, that the quality of the sheets is superb. And on reflection, he's right.

This is not a hotel for the business traveller. Nor would I relish looking after kids in permanent twilight conditions. But it's probably a great spot for a romantic break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

On the 3rd March we went to Malmaison for lunch. I could not sing enough praises about the whole experience.

The selection of food on offer on a special offer meal, two adults for just under £20 was excellent. Plenty of variety and your main being cooked freshly to your specifications.
The staff were exceptional, attentive but not intrusive. A special thank you to Callum who was an excellent waiter and very pleasant and helpful.

Furthermore we were not rushed away from our table and the overall experience is one that will definitely be repeated. Also must mention the restaurant although busy was very comfortable and appealing.

I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Nicely chilled out atmosphere.. Well put together rooms. Friendly staff. Nice bar. Only draw back was breakfast. Prob should be included for the price. They offer a continental breakfast as part of the room rate but if toy want anything cooked it's extra. Would recommend thou.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designguy319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#28 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34 - 38 Victoria St, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing