We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here as a birthday treat and check in was very friendly with Peter. Complimentary upgrade is offered if you book early so the room was a deluxe. Good sized room with all facilities although I did note that there were no robes and slippers which are some of the extras in a deluxe room!! Unfortunately, we had an issue with cleanliness in the room as I found some underwear below the seat I was sitting in. The room obviously had not been cleaned or checked properly. The duty manager apologised and sent some drinks up to the room but I have to say that this incident put a bit of a dampner on the whole experience. The room was uncomfortably warm and had a freestanding air conditioning unit plugged in which was extremely noisy all night. The dining room is not to my taste as even though I am of slight build I had to squeeze inbetween the table next to me to go to the buffet. There is a buffet with cereals and fruit etc and you order your hot breakfast at the table. The hot food was lovely but we had started on our extra orders of tea and coffee by the time it arrived at least 30 minutes later The dining staff were very attentive and courteous but the kitchen let them down. If the hotel reads this review they will be aware of the underwear problem but not have heard any of our other issues - this is because, on check out, we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay!!! First time ever that I have not been asked by reception staff if everything was ok. The hotel lost an opportunity in my eyes to ensure we left with a good feeling about the Malmaison because let's face it , the accommodation wasn't cheap and we expected a higher level of service. Very disappointing

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank granny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    441
    230
    106
    60
See reviews for
97
670
48
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

As ever with the Malmaison, it delivered just what you would expect. Freindly staff and comfortable accommodation. It's handily placed between the city and the Titanic Quarter, just a five minutue walk from the city square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGaviganos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I happened upon this by chance as someone booked it for me. A cosy, interesting hotel with a really different dining experience whatever time of the day. The rooms were first class with different features.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlodynAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Was my second stay here, as the first time the adjoining room had an all night party, but first class customer service as they offered my girlfriend and I a discounted second stay. First class service and hotel this time round (birthday card and chocolates as It was my girlfriends birthday, nice touch) and a card thanking us for giving them a second chance. Always knew that this was a great hotel and my first visit was just bad timing. Once again excellent hotel and first class staff. Handy to most night spots,bars and restaurants. Only slight negative is the pricey lobby bar but the décor more than makes up for it .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel is one of a kind, its modern, funky and a bit freaky :) This hotel has to be stayed in to get what I mean, food is top notch, but it is the staff that make this hotel special, they are brilliant. You realy feel like a guest here and you do not have to ask, the staff here seem to know what you will want. A special mention to Shane, he is an ambassador for Malmaison, he just has one thing in mind, that is to keep his customers happy.

Room Tip: book a room at the back of the hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RovingIrishMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Our daughters treated us to Sunday lunch and an overnight stay in the Samson suite.The food was fantastic and served by a very polite and professional lady called Elaine.The only downside was the price of the drinks but this would not stop us from returning,we are planning our next trip.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Couple1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel is ultra Chic and has a cocktail list to die for....
My wife and I stayed here during a concert night at the Waterfront Theatre and were very impressed with the high levels of service, you are able to chose from a number of eating areas all offering good quality food, whilst washing it all down with any of a vast number of amazing cocktails.

Well recommended for theatre going folk and visitors to Belfast alike.

We would and will stop here again when an overnight in Belfast is required.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite close to bustling Belfast streets yet are well soundproofed, mind you we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#28 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#23 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing