We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice, and incredibly helpful”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The room was very good, and quite large (we upgraded to the room with the king-sized bed), but it was on the main road, and that road is *loud*. Not for light sleepers. But if you're not a light sleeper, this place is great! Just a hop and a skip from everywhere in Belfast that you'd like to be, without being near crowds of bar hoppers. And the staff was so helpful and nice, though that seems to be a feature of everyone in Belfast!

I loved the experience, and for someone from London, I was stunned at the value for money of this room.

We never got a chance to use the bar, but from what I could see, it was mainly Business types. So, to sum up, even if you're going as a weekend city break as a couple, you'll enjoy yourselves, so long as you don't mind hanging around the hotel with a bunch of suits.

Room Tip: Ask for the side of the hotel that isn't on the main road, or is higher up, to avoid road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Was expecting alot when we booked in here for a 2 night stay. Its small. You only realise this when you arrive! The rooms are small, but nicely appointed, flat screen tv, crisp bed linen, good comfortable beds. We had dinner in the restaurant one of the evenings & to be honest it was not great, if its not included, don't bother! It is nice to sit in their hotel bar and have a drink & its very popular, as it was packed come the Friday night - great buzzy atmosphere. The hotel is in a great location too - just across the road from a huge shopping centre & good pubs & nice restaurants. Its nice enough - but beware, their website promises a lot, where in reality, its not as glam as you were hoping!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely hotel, nice room etc, but ordered a club sandwich at £9 when I settled the bill there was a £2.50 tray charge and a 90p service charge added................... and I tipped the waitress. Outrageous extras read the small print on the menu. Don't get caught out like me!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabellaKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here while visiting family. Was surprised that in the hallways the walls and doors were very scuffed and tired looking. Also, my boyfriend is a light sleeper and didn't sleep well as we overlooked the back of a bank that had loud server fans running all night. Food was good and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Myself and fiancé stayed here , different I must say but in a good way, oversized furniture in rooms comfy beds nice decor we arrived in afternoon parking a bit difficult around the hotel property but is expected in a capital city location. Staff nice and friendly,did not eat in hotel though a friend of ours recommended that we dined in Made in Belfast. Made in Belfast was pretty cool the big pink fridge looks cool in restaurant. Had a few beverages in bar that night even met Matt Cardle there was a concert that evening in belfast so that was a good night. Breakfast was great lots to choose from and breakfast very friendly nothing was a problem .will defentialy be coming back to malmasion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickjag9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We booked last minute into this hotel as we were going to an event in the city. i had viewed a few reviews so wasnt goin in with the highest of expectations. To the credit of the staff and management we enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be exactly what we needed. Our room was fine and clean, Our beds were fine and the rate for B&B wasnt too bad at all, However, we were woken early by the sound of a vacuum cleaner at 9am which wasnt ideal and once im awake...im awake!!
The staff were cheerful and genuinely friendly, particularly the young girl at the desk on the sunday afternoon when we were checking out, wish i could remember her name now!! We only stayed one night but are planning to return in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martink2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just back from a two day trip in Belfast. I stayed at this hotel a few times before and always enjoyed it. This time we had a double and a twin room booked and both were lovely and spacious. The decor in the rooms is also nice but beware of the big double windows(its hard to see that there is double windows and we had a few sore heads the first time).
The selection of toiletries is great(i find lots of hotels dont bother with them anymore), smell amazing and are big size, encouraging you to take them home(its even written on the bottles).
The hotel always has some special offers, so it's usually great value. You couldn't ask for a better location. The shops and shopping centre are just across the road, the odyssey and titanic quarter is just across the bridge (15/20min walk). There is plenty of parking available nearby and if you are lucky you can even get one outside the hotel overnight.
All the staff I met so far were lovely and helpful. Our tv wasn't switched on and because it's behind a wooden frame we couldn't find the switch. I rang reception and within two minutes somebody arrived to get it sorted.
The most amazing thing this time was that we were allowed to bring our little dog with us. There was a dog bed and bowl waiting for him in the room. He is only small, very quiet and well behaved so we had no hesitations bringing him along. There should be more hotels like this.
There is nothing I can fault and I will definitely choose the malmaison again the next time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gesoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 45 in Belfast
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 45 in Belfast
2,996 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $120 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing