We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So impersonal but clean and . . . well, average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So impersonal but clean and . . . well, average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Once you get over the surprise of the most under-whelming entrance imaginable, a huge lobby awaits you with receptionists complete with stick-on smiles. Every sinew of this place speaks of average employees being trained and retrained in customer services. The result? Everybody is helpful but it all seems terribly fake.
The food was adequate but a bit lacking though the quality of the pure orange and the selection of teas and coffees was without fault.
The meeting room I was in, was impersonal in the extreme, complete with a chill-blowing air-con, a sound system that didn't work and no natural light.
Hard to figure out overall what to give this place; in some ways it was absolutely fine (snacks, food, service, range of products) but to be honest I felt that I was sleeping inside a large shopping mall.
Sleeping facilities are fine, nothing special, but by no means disasterous either.
On balance, not again - I'll willing suffer some inadequacies of service or products in return for a personality.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms facing the Ormeau Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveforcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHanak, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate your feedback on the product, but can't agree that my team is faking the smiles and the service is not genuine. Yes, we do a lot of customer service training - I believe it is important for the team and for all guests to receive the best service at all times, but we can't really train the attitude towards work and guests. I very much hope that majority of my team is in the hospitality business, because they enjoy the interaction with the guests and it makes them happy and proud to provide consistent service at all times. Maybe it sounds a bit naive, but that is what we do.
Best wishes,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    601
    170
    62
    20
See reviews for
202
608
58
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very pleasant and comfortable hotel in good central location .Free w.end parking a bonus as most multi story c.parks charge £15 per night.Reception staff friendly and genuine .Easy walk into city centre and wonderful Sat morning St George's market -Belfast's hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilikegoodfood186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHanak, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you have appreciated the free car-parking we offer on the weekend.
I look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

the hotel is not far from the center, about 500m from City Hall. very quite and nice.
free internet but parking is 10 Pounds a night.
the B/F is very good and has a great selection.
the room is comfortable and the bed is very nice.
i would recommend business class upgrade, this will give B/F and VOD. free Coffee machine.
very nice!

Room Tip: i would recommend business class upgrade, this will give B/F and VOD. free Coffee machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHanak, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review - I'm really happy you have enjoyed your stay and we ticked all boxes for you.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for work and could phrase this hotel more. At check in i had lots of equipement to bring in for work the following day. chris came out to the car and helped me load everything onto the trolly and brought it up to the training room. The check rooms are fab and the lady who checked me in was excellent. D following 2 days david looked after us in the function room and no matter wat we needed it was never a problem. The training rooms and bedroom are excellent and will definity be returning. Locating is very good too. Only a 5 min walk to d city centre. Thank you all in the radission blue

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mseom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHanak, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your time and posting a review. It's fantastic to see that you have enjoyed both the accommodation, but also our meeting rooms and the service during your training and stay with us. I'm really happy we could contribute to a success of your training in our hotel.
Best wishes,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Pros:

In my experience, one Radisson is pretty much like another no matter where you go. These hotel chains don't have a great deal of personality but that's not a very high priority when you can count on consistency.

This hotel was no different to any other Radisson stays - it was clean, modern, comfy beds, friendly staff, and, as always an AMAZING breakfast (particularly enjoyed by the kids - "what, we can have another chocoalte muffin?").

The in room facilities were also very good with a trouser press, tea and coffee facilities, a decent mini-bar (if you are so inclined). We had booked adjoining rooms as we were with kids and they had gone to the trouble of setting out chocolates and a little teddy bear for the smallest one.

Cons
The Movies on Demand function didn't work and the staff weren't able to fix it on the night and there were no extra pillows in either room.

The check out the next morning was slow due to only one member of staff being on the counter but we got the impression this was due to someone being late as opposed to official practice. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHanak, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I'm delighted you have enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to your expectations when it comes to our usual high brand standards. I'm sorry about the check out being a bit slower - unfortunately some times we have an unexpected sick call or a member of staff coming late - but honestly, it is not happening very often at all.
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had an extremely comfortable stay for 1 night. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and always happy to help.
A well laid out modern foyer and bar area. Rooms are of a modern standard with all the usual amenities which do show the expected wear and tear from a popular hotel.
The free parking was an added bonus in a city partrolled by more traffic wardens than police!!!!
I would and probably will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontherun71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHanak, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It's great to hear that you have had a great time with us and I hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with our daughter and her husband. Our daughter arrived before us and when we arrived the girl at reception welcomed us as if she knew us and told us our daughter had checked in, had lunch and was waiting for us in the bar. Our room was lovely, very clean and a great size. There was everything in the room you would expect from a hotel like this, minibar, safe, iron, trouser press, toiletries etc. We had a view overlooking the water feature and it was very quiet and peaceful. The bar staff were very friendly and attentive and we never needed to repeat our bar order. Sitting outside on the decking with a glass of wine and looking at the water you got the impression you were on a boat and actually moving and no it wasn't the wine taking effect. The breakfast was great. What a selection and it fairly set you up for a day's sightseeing. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we ate in the city both nights so I can't comment on that. As it was the weekend we also had free parking in a secure car park. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHanak, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your review - It's great to see you have enjoyed your stay with us a lot.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Best wishes,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Address: The Gasworks Ormeau Road 3 Cromac Place, Belfast BT7 2JB, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Belfast
#12 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Business Hotel in Belfast
#15 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found in the revitalised Gasworks area, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast combines the relaxation of a riverside holiday with the excitement of a trip to Belfast's vibrant city centre. The hotel's position in Belfast's growing business district appeals to all because it's within walking distance of many corporate offices, attractions, and city centre restaurants and shops. Public transport is also close by, letting you travel to places like the Titanic Quarter and the Botanic Gardens as well as to live sporting events or one of the many golf courses near the hotel's vicinity in Belfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Radisson Hotel Belfast
Radisson Belfast
Belfast Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing