We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian in the East by far!”
Review of Rajput

Rajput
Ranked #140 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian in the East by far!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you like your Indian food then this is great - the surroundings, service and of course the food were all excellent. The staff worked hard to make sure we were happy, gave us good recommendations on menu choice and were very attentive.

We also tried a take away previously and the standard was as good - ready on time and great quality.

Def the best Indian to open its doors in Belfast in a long time - will def be using it from now on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropbon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    30
    16
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First but not last visit”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This restaurant has it all. Delicious food, relaxing surroundings, friendly professional staff. I had a meal tonight with my husband and family and we were very pleasantly surprised at how good our experience was. We were welcomed by Ahad who explained the menu to us and helped us choose our dishes. This guy is genuinely friendly and chatty and his staff are taking their lead from him. The food tasted really fresh and each dish had a distinctive flavour, totally delicious! Food apart, they really have nailed the whole customer service thing and seem to be building the total package. Give this place a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToogoodTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Five star service and food”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Four of us enjoyed one of the best Indian meals that we had ever eaten. The service was excellent with an obvious air of organisation and a young team keen to win over new customers. We all agreed that many of the dishes we had were just amazing. So pleased in fact that the rather shy chef came out to meet us and explain a little about how the use of fresh herbs and ingredients added at just the right moment gave the food it's distinctive flavours. They are busy both for take away and seated customers. This is because they are different and good!
Give this restaurant a try and like us you will talk about it to all your friends and go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluejaydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
381 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Food not bad but service could be better”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was here very recently with a group of friends on a Saturday night for the first time. I had heard that like a number of new restaurants in the Ballyhackamore area that it would be busy as everyone seems to flock to try out the latest new place for the first few months so I wasn't really surprised that the only table we could get booked for was 9pm. That was fine but when we got there we had to stand and wait for 40 minutes before our table for 5 was ready for us which was slightly annoying.The place was totally packed out but despite this it didnt take too long for our order to be taken and the food to arrive. The service was a bit all over the place at times but it was probably due to it being so busy. Generally just a few minor mix ups like the wrong number of glasses brought over, being given the wine which was meant to be for the table next to us and some rice not turning up. The food was nice and I really enjoyed mine but one of our group found a massive hair the whole way through her food which wasn't her own so unfortunately this was a bit off putting. My final gripe was that the people at the table before us must have broken a glass as there was some glass and spillage lying on the floor behind us. Rather than cleaning this up the staff came over on 3 separate occasions and told us to be careful just in case we stood on it when getting up. It might have been better just to take a few minutes to clean it up! I wouldn't say my experience was bad - I had a good night and a nice enough meal but it all just seemed a bit chaotic at times. I would give it another go anyway to see if it improves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belfastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly Recommended!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went to the Rajput in Ballyhackamore with 5 other family at 7pm. Warmly greeted and shown to our table. The staff were very attentive and immediately brought poppadoms and dips while we looked at the menu. The restaurant is a bring your own alcohol establishment but they don't make any charge for corkage. They brought us glasses for our wine and smaller glasses with a jug of water.

We decided to only have main courses and the staff were happy to explain dishes and tailor them to our requirements. Despite the fact that the restaurant was quite busy, our food arrived in a very reasonable amount of time, preceded by good hot plates. The cutlery, plates and glasses were all very clean, as were our surroundings.

The food itself was very tasty and light by Indian restaurant standards. Portion sizes were good and were well presented.

We finished our meals and sat drinking wine and chatting without any sense of hurry from the staff. When we eventually asked for the bill they first brought us hot towelettes - a nice touch!

The cost - £80 for 6 people - probably a little high for main courses and a couple of soft drinks but this is probably offset by the quality of the food and being able to bring our own drinks without any corkage charge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajput also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Rajput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing