We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Cheap and Basic.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Etap Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Etap Belfast
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swineshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Location, Cheap and Basic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here with my partner whilst on a weekend visit to Belfast. The hotel is in the perfect location to visit the city, we managed to walk everywhere we wanted to go. There are plenty of bars and clubs nearby.
The reception staff where extremely helpful and polite, we managed to get an early check in at 10pm for a small fee. Nothing seemed too much hassle.
The rooms are compact, basic and very clean. I payed £38 per night for a city centre hotel so in my opinion they are brilliant value.
There is a nightclub next door which can be heard from the rooms, but music stops at 1am so unless your after an early night its no problem.
I would definitely stay again if visiting Belfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    449
    255
    99
    99
See reviews for
163
412
110
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

It was really nice, the beds were super comfortable! The only issue was that the shower and mirror were positioned so you could see inside the shower from almost anywhere in the room XP me and my friend soon found the places that didn't though, so it wasn't too awkward XD

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Madeline_Irwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

No hassle with reserving a room, no hassle on arrival. Great location, room perfect for a 3 night stay. The room over looking the bar next door "Filthy Mcnastys" is a great view and vibe. Perfect to get in and out the centre and all the bars around.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paia, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

After traveling all over Europe and the UK all month long, this hotel was a breath of fresh air! VERY clean, modern and sleek. Check in was lovely and quick, they sell sandwiches and alcohol/drinks in the lobby pre-made. Took elevator up to our room, room key sensor, hot hot shower, and the view from our window was priceless.

Pub right next door, and several kebab/eateries within a second's walking distance.

Excellent night's sleep, not street noise from our room at all. Clean beds. They have a breakfast buffet in morning, but we missed it due to an early train.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maui N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfriesshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

we got such a great deal on this hotel kept thinking something must be wrong with it, there wasnt, it was ideal. we checked in early and got a room with a huge bathroom on the second floor, overlooking the pub which the receptionist warned us about but we heard practically no noise. room itself pretty basic and the pillows were very small and hard. its in a great location only 5 minutes to the city hall, bars and restaurants nearby and also the cinema. we arrived at the europa bus station and it was 5 minutes away. there is a continental breakfast available at £4.95 which we had one morning and there was plenty to choose from. i gave this a 4 out of 5 because if we had an ordinary room i wouldnt have liked the bathroom layout

Room Tip: the bridge house along the road does reasonably priced food ideal for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janicejanroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent location not far from all of the shops and attractions in the city centre and right next to many pubs and restaurants which was perfect for our stay. The price was reasonable for our 3 night stay and the hotel was very clean and modern, to be honest I didn't expect much for the price I had paid but it exceeded my expectations. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we arrived earlier than the 12 o'clock check in and the lady on reception kindly let us leave our suitcase whilst we went to explore. All in all great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed here for one night - booked directly through the Ibis website for a cheap rate, paid little extra for breakfast as I didn't know the area, but there is lots of lovely cafes and eateries nearby so I'd recommend going there as brekkie wasn't worth the extra money.

Bedroom was clean and fit for purpose however please be aware if there are more than two of you - it is quite cramped.
Overall it was cheap and cheerful, however the biggest negative for us was the toilet doors are "saloon" type doors with large gaps at the top and bottom so anyone in the room with you can hear you on the toilet, which is embarrassing and wholly unnecessary!

If you're on your own or as a couple and need somewhere cheap to stay in the centre of Belfast, this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: They're all pretty small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Running_Epilogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness. I am sorry that you were sisapointed by the room design. I hope that this will not deter you of using our hotel in the future.Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Travelodge Belfast Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etap Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etap Belfast

Property: Hotel Etap Belfast
Address: 35 Dublin Road, Belfast BT2 7HD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Etap Belfast 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jakub MAKUCHOWSKI, the manager of the Hotel ETAP Belfast would like to welcome you. This ibis budget is located in the heart of Belfast city centre near the Central Train Station, offering essential comfort with modest prices. There are 146 Cocoon rooms for up to three people which all feature en-suite bathrooms and a flat-screen TV. All rooms are 100% non-smoking. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and the reception is open 24/7. The hotel offers a good value buffet breakfast and there is also a snack vending machine available. Pets are allowed within the hotel (one pet per room, chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Etap Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing