We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, utilitarian budget hotel - does what it says on the tin”
Review of Hotel Etap Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Etap Belfast
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean, utilitarian budget hotel - does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Etap is a welcome addition to Belfast's budget hotel scene. It's clean. The wifi works. Cups of tea and coffee down at reception. Brand newl construction and furnishings. Clean bed, shower and lavvy. Extra towels - all super clean. TV works. Price is good - crucially the advertised rate is also refundable, unlike its competitors. The staff are all friendly and accommodating, actually overhwlemingly so, down to the late night security fella. It's not the Ritz (or the Stormont), but you get more than what you pay for (£36 a night when I booked) - it's much better than average for a no-frills hotel. Bring your own soap - they don't provide any, and be prepared to trek down to reception for tea and coffee (wonder if these are hallmarks of a French parent company yet to learn the expectations of guests on these isles). One side of the hotel overlooks one of Belfast's louder beer gardens - depending on what you're like you'll either need earplugs to sleep or benefit from not needing to call a cab to take you back at closing time. I'll certainly be back to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DrDodecahedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7186_gm, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    479
    280
    107
    113
See reviews for
174
451
122
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good to stay for one night. Glenn THE NIGHT MANAGER is a true ambassador for this new hotel. I am sure lot of guest will keep on coming back to this hotel because of him. I would suggest management to put phones in the room to call the reception.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7186_gm, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. I am sure that Glenn will be very happy with the mentionning of his name in your comments.
Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

You will not get better value for money than this new hotel. The rooms are modern and immaculate,the hotel is in a great location. We have re-booked to come back in October we were so impressed.
The established hotels in Belfast should learn from this gem when it comes to pricing their rooms.Let the competition begin!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairde2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7186_gm, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Simple... It's like a Hostel for Backpackers with the most basic, cold, sterile rooms I've ever seen. Didn't stay we went back down and checked out just to be given a dirty look and shrug. I know it's from £36 a night and you can't expect it to be a Deluxe Property but the rooms are just too clinical and really do represent being in a hospital ward.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7186_gm, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fantastic Hotel. If you are visiting Belfast for business or leisure there is no reason to stay anywhere other than this fantastic gem right in the city centre. I stayed 2 nights and for a budget hotel I was hugely surprised. Right from checkin there is a welcoming smile and friendly can do attitude.

The rooms while a compact offer plenty of space for a 1 or 2 night stay. Located right in on the Dublin Road you are central to it all. City Hall is a 2 min stroll, Queens Quarter 5 mins. Plenty of pubs right on your door step, call into Filthy McNasties, right next door and a great trendy pub with a great vibe.

Being a city centre hotel I was surprised how quiet the room was, no noise, air con in all rooms and some really funky LED lighting including the shower but I wont spoil that surprise for you all.

If you are visiting just book this hotel you wont go wrong oh and FREE wifi in all the hotel - tell me where do you get that for £36 a night - only one place I know - ETAP Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wari2ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7186_gm, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked 2 family rooms for an overnight stay, staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay, got our 2 rooms next to each other which was great, found the room very clean but quite compact & basic for a family, ie, shower was right next to bed, and door was partially see through, which meant the kid's had to go into the room next door when anyone wanted to shower, which was not ideal, also toilet cubicle in the room also had no locks on door's which also was not ideal from a privacy point of view, not sure if this was because the hotel was newly opened this week and perhaps not fitted yet? Location was good, a few minutes from city centre, situated near some bar's and restaurants, which did mean a bit of noise, liked the cleanliness and reception staff were very helpful, found it ok for an overnight stay, but perhaps not ideal for a family staying a bit longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psslsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7186_gm, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 44 in Belfast
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Travelodge Belfast Central
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etap Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etap Belfast

Property: Hotel Etap Belfast
Address: 35 Dublin Road, Belfast BT2 7HD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Etap Belfast 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jakub MAKUCHOWSKI, the manager of the Hotel ETAP Belfast would like to welcome you. This ibis budget is located in the heart of Belfast city centre near the Central Train Station, offering essential comfort with modest prices. There are 146 Cocoon rooms for up to three people which all feature en-suite bathrooms and a flat-screen TV. All rooms are 100% non-smoking. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and the reception is open 24/7. The hotel offers a good value buffet breakfast and there is also a snack vending machine available. Pets are allowed within the hotel (one pet per room, chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Etap Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing