We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect wonders..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Soda Joes

Soda Joes
Ranked #818 of 1,044 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Don't expect wonders..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

After reading the reviews I thought I'd try it for myself early afternoon midweek. On the positive side staff are friendly, service was attentive, sauted potatoes and onion rings were very good. Burders were rubbery and disappointing and the chicken wings needed some spice. This restaurant is tired somewhat battered and grubby, very poor reflection of the better diners like Johnny or Eddie Rockets.. For what it is it's expensive. Two burgers with fries and one chicken wings with one beer and one coffee was £30!!!
This place only caters for the lunch crowd Wednesday to Saturday and the concert crowd. I'd probably be less critical after a concert with more than one beer under my belt.. But sober in the quiet of daylight this is a greasy spoon..and not even a good one..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    18
    12
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst fast food I game ever eaten.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cold limp chips even my chip loving 6 year old wouldn't eat. Garlic dip was a some kind of think white gunk with an inch of flourescent oil on top. Chicken tenders had a weird flavour - again the kids wouldn't eat them and neither would I. Burger was good if greasy and chillie natchos were fine. Eddie Rockets is Michelin starred in comparison.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A great restaurant with an American diner theme serving first class food. The variety on the menu is fantastic offering something for everyone young and old and be assured you'll leave with that full up feeling, trust me!

The staff are fast and efficient, but do not rush, excepy maybe on concert nights when tables are in such high demand and no wonder.

Go ahead give it a go and try the ribs, chicken wings or steaks, delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The llace has plenty of room so your not on top each other. Clean and tidy
We were served right away and our drinks brought straight down by a friendly waitress. Our food was served within 10 mins max and piping hot. There was plenty on the plates too. Food was very tasty and would recomend anyone to give it a try

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Joes also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Soda Joes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing