We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury home from home better than the pictures”
other travelers have booked this property
The Mayfly Room is stunningly pretty and has a King size Half Tester bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mayfly Room is stunningly pretty and has a King size Half Tester bed
The sitting room has been furnished in the style of an Irish Georgian country house. The sitting room is luxuriously appointed with traditional mahogany furniture and antiques.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Mayfly Room is stunningly pretty and has a King size Half Tester bed
The sitting room has been furnished in the style of an Irish Georgian country house.
The sitting room is luxuriously appointed with traditional mahogany furniture and antiques.
The sitting room also features stunning views over the garden and Belfast Lough.
Wonderful to be in  the sitting room in the evenings watching the ships go down the Lough lit up.
Spacious and well-equipped, the bespoke kitchen has a cosy and smart country look.
The bespoke luxury fully-equipped kitchen leading to utility area.
The kitchen has a separate utility area and a comfortable dining area.
The kitchen has a stylish dining area to one end.
Mayfly Room large en suite bathroom with a walk-in shower with luxury double head gas power shower.
The Mayfly Room's en suite features a roll top bath as well as a large walk in shower cubicle.
The Tartan Room (upstairs) is a cosy traditional room with King size Victorian-style brass bed.
The Tartan Room's large en suite bathroom has a bath with luxury double head gas power shower over.
The Gingham Rose Suite is a pretty room with twin beds, 2 steps down it, making it slightly quirky.
The Gingham Rose suite (upstairs) has a separate small sitting area with two chairs.
The Gingham Suite's large en suite bathroom has a luxury walk-in double head gas power shower.
The Linen Room (downstairs) has a chic style, inspired by Scandinavian design, with King-size bed.
The Linen Room's en suite bathroom has a walk-in electric shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RAH46
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury home from home better than the pictures”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My family travelled back to Belfast from Perth for Christtmas and New Year. We have stayed in a number of other places on our regular trips back to Belfast over the years. The Old Rectiory was by far the best accomodation we have ever had in this part of the world. The house was beautiful and perfectly clean. We were met on arrival by Rosemary who made us feel very welcome. The house was perfect for my wife , daughter and I as we were close to Belfast City centre and our extended family. The kitchen was beautifully equipped and the dining table was a great size for entertaining. The ensuite bathrooms were immaculate and most of all the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in thanks to the goose down pillows and duvet !! Awesome we willl be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
It was a pleasure to have you and your wife and daughter stay in our beautiful house and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a marvellous review. I do hope that we shall see you back here again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theis
Kelvedon, Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked The Old Rectory to be close to Belfast but far enough away to feel outside the city. Booking was a breeze, and it is close to the Belfast Stena Terminal. We arrived to be met by Rosemary and John, who were kind and considerate throughout our stay. We experienced a problem with one of the showers, but as there were three others in the property (every room has its own en suite) we managed to struggle by. The rooms were all beautifully decorated and we took an interest in some of the sculptures - John is a sculptor, one particular bust caught our attention as it was a former doctor from the Royal Victoria Hospital, helpfully his autobiogaphy was also available to read.

Access to the Lough side is available down a hill and this allows guests to take an enjoyable brisk morning walk or stroll to either Jordanstown Loughshore Park or Hazelbank Park depending on the way you wish to go. There are shops, restaurants and takeaways along the Shore Road within a short stroll towards Jordanstown. We visited a nubmer of these, a number recommended by our hosts, and found them to be rather good.

There is a private patio area for a quiet coffee watching the ships on the Lough or for an al fresco meal if this takes your fancy. The kitchen is well equipped and in the visitor pack there are lots of recommendations for eating out, things to do and instructions for the applicances in the cottage.

We enjoyed being able to invite friends to visit us at the cottage, and the younger members of the family were able to have a night on the town in Belfast and get a taxi back to the cottage Belfast was so accessible.

We had a fabulous time at The Old Rectory and sincerely hope to return next year. It was that good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our beautiful house and for giving us such an interesting and excellent one! We also appreciate very much your understanding when we had a problem with one of the showers ( we were able to locate the leak and get it fixed the weekend you departed) especially as you were there for 2 weeks with many family members. We do hope that we shall see you next year and give you our best wishes in the meantime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patlynn62...
Highland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home and more!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We can't say enough about this amazing house. We enjoyed the comfortable beds, lovely living room where we could watch the ships coming into Belfast Harbor, fantastic kitchen w/the large dining area, and the private patio area w/access to the coastal walkway for after dinner strolls.We were 5 adults traveling together and there was more than enough space to spread out and have a bit of privacy. It's location was perfect for day-trips into Belfast, the Antrim Coast and points beyond. The house is just off the highway, but we never heard any traffic noise or neighbors, yet convenient to public transportation, restaurants and shops.Thank you to Rosemary and John for sharing this beautiful home, your hospitality will never be forgotten. We wish we could have stayed longer as it was such a pleasure to come home to the Old Rectory after a long day of sightseeing. Hope to be back again soon! (p.s. photos are very accurate)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and beautifully decorated!
Liked least: Not one negative I can think of.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2014
I really appreciate your taking the time to write such a wonderful and enthusiastic review of our beautiful Old Rectory and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to Northern Ireland as much as your first and that your family loved it as much as you did! It was a pleasure to have you and your delightful family to stay here and we hope very much that you will return sometime in the future. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdC8
Audley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Class Act”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stopped at The Old Rectory for a week. The place is a delight, it has 4 bedrooms, 3 Doubles and one twin. All the bedrooms have at least a shower room, two have baths also. The property is roughly 5 miles north of Belfast and is an ideal base for a stay. The railway station is a 5 minute walk away for those like us that were without transport and trains run into Belfast every half hour. Great kitchen, Lounge. Can't fault it.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our beautiful Old Rectory. I'm so pleased that you liked it -and also Belfast - so much. It was a pleasure to have you, your wife and your daughters to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M
Düsseldorf
2 reviews
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Outstanding. Everything you need and more. We had a fantastic time. There is a coastal path great for running and cycling right behind the house. Perfect location to explore Belfast and the North of Ireland. The Old Rectory is one of three self-catering properties so it is also ideal for a family reunion in a private setting yet with plenty of room to get together and a beach at the back door. We really loved the cottage and will definitely go back.

Hervorragend. Alles was man braucht und mehr. Wir hatten eine super Zeit. Es gibt ein Lauf-und Fahrrad Küstenweg direkt hinter dem Haus. Perfekte Lage um Belfast und Nord Irland zu erkunden. Das Old Rectory ist eine von drei self-catering cottages und ideal für ein Familientreffen in privater Atmosphäre jedoch mit viel Platz um gemeinsam etwas zu unternehmen und einem Strand direkt neben an. Das Cottage hat uns super gut gefallen und wir werden auf jeden Fall wiederkommen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooms and bathrooms - fantastic!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review for our beautiful 200-yearold house. It was a pleasure to have you, your husband and your two delightful sons to stay and we look forward to having you stay again and perhaps have a big family reunion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjohnson5...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We could not fault this beautiful place - the location was ideal and the property was gorgeous, extremely comfortable and well stocked. Rosemary and John are lovely people who made every effort to make our stay enjoyable and my only complaint is that it would have been nice to stay for longer! We hope to return soon. Most impressive, would highly recommend this to anyone who visits Ireland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2013
Thank you for saying such complimentary things about our beautiful Old Rectory. I appreciate your taking the time to do this when you are so busy with a young baby. We hope we shall see you all here again sometime soon - if you can bear to leave sunny California!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen L
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“A Stunning property”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is an absolutely stunning property. Very clean. It has been recently been very tastefully renovated and decorated. The location is perfect for access to Belfast, the north coast, County Down and to the centre of N.Ireland. Iris virtually at the end of the M5.

We had a party of 7 which included 2 seniors who had mobility issues but with the downstairs bedroom this was not a problem.

There were ensuites in each bedroom which was wonderful.

The kitchen was very well equipped and had a large eating area which allowed everyone including guests to dine together.

To top everything off we had a wonderful view of Belfast Loch. Some of party took advantage of walks along the sea wall.

We would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, the view and ensuites.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2013
Thank you for giving our beautiful house such a wonderful review. I'm so pleased that it worked out so well for your family with 3 generations coming for your son's wedding. We even arranged for you to have sunshine as well! Again, many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing