We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to the Ormeau Road”
Review of Shed

Shed
Ranked #56 of 1,114 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: European, Irish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Exciting, delicious food, well presented. Only criticism would be that it is a bit more expensive than I expected but not excessively so.

Thank TyroneTraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. Exciting, delicious and well presented food are key ingredients of the Shed Experience. In all that we do, we endeavour to provide a guest-benefitting balance between our menu choices, the high quality of our food, a well-considered wine and drink list, friendly guest service, our ambience and the value overall to help ensure an excellent and memorable experience for each of our guests. Thank you once more and we look forward to serving you again soon at Shed on the Ormeau Road! Eithne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 367 of 406 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Called in by chance for Sunday lunch. Really enjoyed starter of goats cheese and red onion followed by very tender Beef Bourguignon . Other members of party also enjoyed lovely main courses and desserts. Well worth a visit and we will be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IrelandMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, and I have shared your compliments with the entire Shed kitchen and guest service team. I am really glad that you enjoyed Shed Sunday, and we looked forward to seeing you again! Eithne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We'd been meaning to try out Shed since it opened and finally got a booking this weekend. It surpassed our expectations, despite the fact that we'd heard good reviews from friends and family. The chef is meticulous in his preparation of every dish and everything was cooked delishously and perfectly. It was truly one of the best meals I've had in a long time in Belfast - certainly putting places like The Merchant Hotel in the shade!! As well as great food there's a well informed staff who know the dishes very well. It's a relaxed dining style that fits right in with the Ormeau Rd vibe and I think if it successfully maintains this standard, people will flock to it from all over! I'm just thrilled that it's in my neck of the woods.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 4Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate you sharing your experience at Shed with us! I am especially pleased that we surpassed your expectations as our aim is make every guest’s experience as positive as it can possibly be. You are correct about our Chefs. Head Chef Gilles, Chef Gareth and the whole kitchen team are quality, taste and detail focused and I have passed along your comments to them. The relaxed style, service and vibe are also key ingredients of the Shed Experience. Thank you again, and we are glad to be your neighbourhood gem on the Ormeau Road! Eithne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a great addition to the ormeau road. We called in on spec the first time and the service and food was great. Have been back several times, and standard of food and service has been consistently high. Having lived in France for several years, this restaurant really reminds me of what I miss in my other home - good food, well cooked and seasoned, excellent service and well chosen wine. Excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sinkyparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate you sharing your experience at Shed with us! Head Chef Gilles Willaume, professionally trained in France and now serving Belfast guests for over 20 years, has wonderful food skill and leads a strong Shed kitchen team completely focused on taste, quality and detail accompanied, as you say, by a well chosen wine. Thank you again, and we will see you back at Shed soon! Eithne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The locals are lucky to have such as great place on the "door step" as the quality and ambiance equates to the better City Centre places (not just Belfast either). The weekday lunch menu was simple but with great choices, good ingredients, well cooked.

The crowd was mixed from "ladies who lunch", business people and families - all of whom where having a great time. The service was prompt and friendly.

Overall, worth travelling for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AnnH456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate you sharing your experience at Shed with us! I am also really glad that you enjoyed your lunch from our new summer menu which has proven very popular. Whether it’s a business lunch, a family get-together, couples out for the day or others just looking for a quality meal with friendly service and a pleasurable atmosphere, we are finding our guests traveling from all over Belfast to join our nearby neighbours and share in the Shed Experience! I have also passed your thoughtful comments along to our chefs and guest service staff, and we hope to see you again soon at Shed! Thank you, again. Eithne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shed also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing