We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bastille

La Bastille
Ranked #42 of 1,043 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Bastille Restaurant boasts true, chic, parisienne style and class for Northern IrelandAuthentic, traditional french cuisine with a modern twist in an intimate, romantic setting.
belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful meal off the set menu the other evening and it was absolutely delicious.
Also great value!
Haven't enjoyed a meal there so much in a while. As ever, a charming, warm welcome despite the fact we had not booked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uunnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    120
    49
    36
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Attention all foodies!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been real fans of this restaurant for a year or two now & any bad reviews I read are usually to do with Groupon

If you truly love French food then you must go to the "Love Food, Love Wine" night held on the last Monday of each month

The idea is four courses of food with four matching wines for £40

We went last night & had one of the best meals we've had, for £90 (we had a bottle of water & a plate of cheese)

The starter was for serious foodies only but it's a French classic, Steak Tartar but it was topped with roasted peppers & not raw egg yoke. It also had a few capers for a little sharpness & once spread on the crunchy toast it was heavenly. This was matched with a Pinot Noir from the Languedoc, which whilst not up to the top Burgundy Pinots, it was really tasty.

The second course was a pan fried Sea Bream with a lentil & leek broth. For those of us of a certain age, imagine your mum's best vegetable soup (you know made from the soup veg on a Sunday), well the broth tasted like that with beautiful Puy lentils & little nuggets of carrot & lightly poached thin slices of baby leek & topped with a perfectly cooked fillet of sea bream, absolutely outstanding. This was matched with a Picpoul, this is a lesser known grape but it produces a zingy, fresh wines tasting of Granny Smith apples, great match

An almond sorbet followed as a palate cleanser & then came the roast pigeon with carrot cooked 3 ways, wild mushrooms & a port reduction, all this for £40!!!

The pigeon was medium rare which is really has to be so this might not suit everyone but OMG it was delicious, a full bodied Merlot was the wine match, very tannic as the bottle was just opened but after 15 minutes or so it was beautiful

We then asked for a small plate of cheese before our desserts & we got a selection of 6 French cheeses, just little small pieces but perfect

We finished off with a white chocolate fondant with pistachio & chocolate ice cream, when I cut into the fondant, a white chocolate goo oozed out, wonderful. We had a lovely glass of port from Fonseca which was a lovely sweet rich match for this

I honestly do not know anywhere that you could get four courses of food of this quality for £40 never mind adding 4 glasses of really decent wine.

Fantastic!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Taste of Paris in Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Almost hidden away underground on South Belfast's Lisburn Road, but believe me this restaurant offering excellent French Cuisine is well worth searching out. We booked for the Special Sunday set menu, this offers a fantastic choice to suit any pallet at a very reasonable price. We received a very warm and friendly welcome when we arrived and were offered the choice of a number of tables to be seated. We were informed of the specials and our order for the food & wine was taken with a warm smile. The wine list is excellent and very affordable. The House Merlot was a superb full bodied delicious wine. Our starters arrived promptly and were extremely well presented and tasted wonderful. The Mains again had a timely arrival and looked very pleasing. Delighted to say that Both Mains (Pork Belly & Trio of Fish) tasted as delicious and mouthwatering as they looked. The whole experience was very relaxing and we felt totally welcome throughout. Will definitely be back for more of La Bastille's Charm and and delightful food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerryire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable family meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hadn't booked but the waiter was able to accommodate us as it was still reasonably early on a Saturday evening. A family meal with two teenage boys it is usually not possible to please everyone, but happy to report we had a lovely meal. A very authentic french meal without being pretentious or stuffy. Would certainly recommend to all age groups. Visited 20th April 2013

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weddingplanner19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely evening in La Bastille. Excellent food, with plenty of options available from a varied menu. The service was very professional yet also friendly. Great atmosphere. The nice little garden outside was perfect for a few photos. Planning on going back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bastille also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to La Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing