We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A History of Terror - Belfast”

DC Tours - A History of Terror
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.88*
and up
Belfast Troubles Historical Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 112 Tours in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A History of Terror is the No.1 walking tour in Belfast. The 2 hour tour covers 2 miles and visits 8 sites in Belfast city centre where some of the most historically important incidents of the conflict known as 'the Troubles' took place. You will learn about the Troubles, discover the stories of the people involved, the reasons why the conflict started, how the peace process took shape and the journey to the active, vibrant city you see today. It is the only Conflict & Reconciliation Tour to have been awarded an 'Excellent' rating by the Northern Irish Tourist Board and has been named 'Belfast Tour of the Year' for 2017 by the Luxury Travel Guide. Led by guides who are natives of Belfast and Conflict Historians, the tour is unbiased, educational and factual and has been described as 'Great value and a fantastic experience'. From January 2017 the tour is available every day, but must be booked in advance. It normally runs in the mornings from Sunday to Friday, and on Saturday afternoons. Please email us to confirm times and availability or book online on our website.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A History of Terror - Belfast”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Paul, our tour guide, was fantastic. He was very well versed in the rich history of the "Troubles" that engulfed Belfast in the 25 years of its existence, He gave a wonderful walking tour of the Center City depicting certain images such as the "Ring of Steel" and locations of events that represented the "Troubles" in its true, but horrific characterization.

The tour, well represents as to what the city residents endured for 25 years, but it also allows you to see and feel the progress as to how Belfast and Northern Ireland are moving into an era of peace and prosperity.

If you are traveling to Belfast, I highly recommend taking a few hours out of your day and schedule this walking tour. You will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank caseycloonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at DC Tours - A History of Terror, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Casey,
Thanks for taking the time to leave such an excellent review of the tour. It means a huge amount to us to know how much you enjoyed it!
Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A worthwhile informative experience.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Took this tour with my brother who was home from Australia. There were only 3 of us on the tour and found it really interesting. Our guide Paul was a mine of information and his presentation skills were excellent. I would unreservedly recommend this tour to any visitor to Belfast. I cannot believe that it isn't endorsed by the Tourist centre. I have already spread the word to my friends.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank birches59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at DC Tours - A History of Terror, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Birches,
Thanks so much for your review. It's great to hear that you and your brother got so much from the tour!
Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“the alternative tour of inner city belfast”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

great tour.shown some of the sights of the atrocities committed in the early years of the troubles with lots of insight and local knowledge about inner city belfast at the time.not endorsed by the tourist office which should make it all the more a part of everyone's itinerary .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kindersol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at DC Tours - A History of Terror, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Kindersol,
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review. We always love to hear when our guests have really enjoyed the tour!
Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent informative tour”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This is really a worthwhile tour. Very informative and is not your typical tour or tour guide, but that really is a positive.
Couldn't believe the tour had lasted nearly four hours, the time flew by as we were so enthralled by the detailed history of 'the troubles' era.
We were in Belfast less than a day before flying out in the afternoon. We didn't have time for any other sites (such as the Titanic exhibition) but out of all of the things we could've done we were so glad we chose this.
And all for £10 per person it really is a must.

Helpful?
Thank GetawayGirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at DC Tours - A History of Terror, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi Getawaygirl,

Thanks so much for leaving your review of the tour, it really means a lot. We are really pleased that you chose us for your limited time in Belfast and that the tour was so enjoyable!

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“An enjoyable and interesting experience”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was the only person on the tour on the day, so I had the benefit of a highly personalised tour. The guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and generous with his insights, and I left feeling enriched for it. Would recommend Dead Centre Tours to anyone wanting to find out more aout Belfast and the Troubles.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at DC Tours - A History of Terror, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi James,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it! It's great to hear that you found the tour so enjoyable and learnt so much, it means a huge amount to us.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC Tours - A History of Terror also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to DC Tours - A History of Terror? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing