We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good burgers”
Review of Alley Cat - CLOSED

Alley Cat
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good burgers”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

worth a visit for the decor,the menu is limited mostly burgers ect service is fast and efficient. please dont go here looking for a meal out its not that type of venue.The only sting in the tail here is a portion of onion rings priced at £4.00 with only 5 rings a bit too pricey.Overall good spot to drop in for a pint and a burger.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunandfunseeker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    94
    50
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've been to alley cat a good lot of times, and majority of them its been great. but a sometimes I've went and the burgers haven't been up to scratch to be honest, under-seasoned beef, and limp soggy sweet potato fries. luckily this was only twice, and every other time it was delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank o1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Try the pork sliders!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited over the weekend with family. Amazing addition to Belfast, I haven't been here since it was The Roost and absolutely love the bars transformation into something really quirky and trendy. Atmosphere was incredible with live music in the evening and dim lighting. We were dealt with by two different members of staff, a blonde haired girl and a boy who told us he was new , we were really impressed by the service from all involved, they all seemed to be coping well considering it was quite busy and had time for a bit of banter and meaningful chat. Food is mostly American diner themed, hot dogs, burgers, but with a modern, delicious twist. Try the BBQ pulled pork sliders theyre incredible! Great veggie options too. Will be back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
405 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Quirky and Tasty”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We popped in here for a late lunch on Saturday afternoon and were very impressed! The decor is very trendy and a bit different. We ordered a selection of starters which were all lovely - chicken wings, fries and onion rings and the nicest part the pulled pork sliders. My uncle had a burger which he said was delicious. The service was excellent and the staff all very friendly. The bill is also delivered in a very quirky box and it's the small touches like this that really add to the experience. Will definitely be back and have already recommended it to friends!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria_jamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Every Visit Memorable”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Alley Cat is one of my favourite new haunts in the city centre. After tasting one of the most beautiful burgers I have ever had in my life, I began to frequent this bar/restaurant, introducing people from my friends visiting from abroad and even my parents to their food and cocktails - all have returned again. A great place for a light bite with a mouth-watering menu that caters very well for both vegetarians and carnivores who like their food cooked to a very high standard. There is a fantastic selection of local beers and cocktails are served in quaint little teapots with tin cups - always a talking point! The surroundings are quirky, but unpretentious and the staff are great for a bit of banter and very attentive.

I think the fact that the place is always buzzing in the evenings speaks for itself, considering there are so many different bars in the city centre to choose from. Alley Cat has become a new favourite stop on our pub crawls and is always quiet enough for a quick drink even with live music or a DJ playing in the background. As someone who works in hospitality, I can honestly say I am continually impressed by this place and will continue to frequent it in the future. Definitely one to try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elglobo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley Cat also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing