We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food”
Review of Bourbon at Queens - CLOSED

Bourbon at Queens
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Tunbridge Wells
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Lovely spacious restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere. The crab starter was lovely as was the duck main course. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Loved the art on the wall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    40
    17
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alva, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous food, great location and amazing staff :)”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

It was great to be back home in NI to celebrate the start of the Giro d'Italia and what better way to top off watching the Team Time Trial than to saunter up University Road for a feast at Bourbon @ Queens.

The owners and staff had gone all out to join in with the pink theme of the Giro which was also reflected in the special pink menu and limited edition pink Prosecco.

A warm welcome greeted us and we were shown to our table upstairs. The menu was just the right length and the wine list impressive - anywhere that serves a NZ Sauv Blanc that good is off to an impressive start in my book. Hubby was delighted that the Italian theme extended to Peroni on draught.

Squid to start was perfect as was hubby's linguine starter portion. We both love a good steak and both chose this for the main event. Cooked to perfection and presented beautifully.
No room for dessert but enjoyed plenty of wine and a bit of banter with the staff, who had been professional,attentive and cheerful throughout our visit.

Highly recommend this place, I for one will certainly be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottaluvflying
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“BOURBON DESERVES TO BE NUMBER ONE ON TRIP ADVISOR!! CANNOT RECOMMEND HIGHLY ENOUGH.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband & myself have just had the most delicious meal in Bourbon at Queens & I have to say that is really was one of the best meals we have had in quite some time...and that's praise indeed because we do tend to eat out a lot!! The quality of the food, the superb presentation, the warm atmosphere & ambience created by the friendly, professional & welcoming staff together with the excellent location will make this a place which we will be visiting on a regular basis based on our visit there today. We were initially served by a friendly Australian guy called Matt & then by a lovely local girl called Sinead. The head chef, David, is to be highly commended for his attention to detail because every part of our superb meal...from starter to dessert was excellent both in terms of taste & quantity. I had a starter of mussels which came with a delicious light creamy sauce & were really delicious...my husband opted for the chicken wings which are cooked in a spicy honey sauce & he declared them to be so good that he could have eaten a bucket full of them! I then had the absolutely superb roast beef with Yorkshire pudding & roast potatoes & veg. The presentation was lovely....really first class. Hubby had the Bourbon burger which he said was excellent...it was served in a soft roll with cheese, gherkin, bacon & more....as well as skinny chips. They say the proof is in the eating & all I can tell you is that both of our plates were cleared! We absolutely loved it! Since the starters & main courses had been SO good we decided we would have to sample the desserts...well it would have been rude not to!! I opted for the sticky toffee pudding served with warm butterscotch sauce & vanilla ice cream & my husband went for the apple crumble with vanilla ice cream. They were both divine...the sticky toffee pudding was surprisingly light & the crumble topping on the apple crumble tasted nutty & delicious. Sinead tells me it's a secret recipe ....it is VERY good indeed & a secret worth keeping. It is our opinion that Bourbon at Queens are worthy of being the number one restaurant in Belfast ....we have eaten at a lot of them...and can honestly say that if you want to have a superb meal in lovely surroundings at sensible prices & to be served by friendly, knowledgable staff ...then look no further than Bourbon @ Queens.

Well done to David & his staff, Sinead & Matt.......see you again...soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gottaluvflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine food, classy setting, terrific staff”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Bourbon is a wonderful place to eat! We had a meeting there with a small group of people with wildly different tastes, and all found a delicious entree. The food was well prepared, inventive, fresh and the wine list was good without pretension. The location could not be easier to find -- right near Queens University and on bus lines. It has two levels and would be a fine choice for family dining, a romantic date or a work meeting. The owner (don't know his name) was charming and very professional, as were his staff people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWithNotebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special dining evening in Belfast”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Thanks guys for a great eveningnd service, delicious pork belly, ....our first "night out" from New Zealand was superb, look forward to returning

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trekker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon at Queens also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing