We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great carry/curry on at the khyber”
Review of Khyber Tandoori

Khyber Tandoori
Ranked #184 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
saintfield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great carry/curry on at the khyber”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

this place is benchmark for indian cuisine over many years carry outs and sitting in the head chef is so good his idendity is kept secret a la mi5 as numerous places have tried to recruit him.the 3 course lunch deal is 7.50 great value and early bird menu under a tenner . service is very good from raj and the others and boss in chief tariq. belfast telegraph joris rates it highly no surprise

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Food very good - but curries a little sweet.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a return visit to a location we have enjoyed on many occasions previously. The location is in a small mall on a busy arterial road leading to Belfast The restaurant is large and well presented but was not very busy when we visited on a mid-week evening just before New Year. Service was very fast - perhaps too fast - as soon as something was finished it was whisked away. As it happened we were not concerned but it may have been a little more of an issue if we had wanted to linger more. Given the emp[ty seats it was not warranted. We ordered butter chicken,Chicken Tikka Masala and Lamb Rogan Josh. The sweet dishes were very sweet to the taste - my wife and kids liked this but it tasted very sweet - perhaps too many years living in Canada. The Rogan Josh had fresh tomatoes but did not have a tomato base - again it was too sweet for a Rogan Josh IMO. Prices were good and the service excellent. I will go again but order something definitely savoury rather than sweet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly staff and amazing food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ate here 30 october2012 have been driving past this place meaning to call in for a meal lots of times. Restuarnt was very clean staff were so friendly we went for 3 course special £9,95 food and service was first class. Im jus sorry i never visited this place sooner. Will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccps32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hands Down Best Indian in Belfast!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A firm favourite (both personal and family) when in the mood for an Indian meal. Have been visiting for years, both to sit in and takeaway. The food is always 5* and you can just tell it's authentic/homemade.

My personal recommendation? The Tikka Masala. Amazing. And a garlic naan. *Mouth Waters*

You could visit with your partner, family or friends. It suits all visits. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful, authentic indian cuisine”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

my family and I love this restaurant, We love the atmosphere in the restaurant, whilst the staff are extremely attentive, the atmosphere is still relaxed and very enjoyable, we have never rushed through a meal at the Khyber. The menu has great choice and caters for all tastes, and the food is second to none, very tasty with great portion size, we never leave feeling hungry that's for sure! definitely recommended for any Indian cuisine enthusiast!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khyber Tandoori also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Khyber Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing