We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've been to!”
Review of Global Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Global Village
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hostel I've been to!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been travelling around Europe for a few months staying in hostels and Global Village is by far the best. Such a great atmosphere, staff are amazing and really want everyone to have a fun time. Rooms are really spacious and clean as are all the facilities. Close to the city and museums etc. Cant recommend this place highly enough, am going back to Belfast again just so I can stay at GV!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soohcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    59
    14
    4
    9
See reviews for
9
21
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was only going to stay for 2 nights, but ended up staying more as I really loved the hostel. Probably the cleanest hostel i've ever stayed in (even hand sanitizer in bathrooms), comfy bed, hot showers and excellent social space. Every night the staff organised some kind of informal activity, movie night with popcorn on the house, drinks/heading towards local event/venue (free) - I felt at home, and not like I was being flogged anything like at other hostels (ie, come on our £10 tourist trap pub crawl). It was all very relaxed. Staff were fantastic, very knowledgable, and would go out their way to help to. Great location, close to shops and walking to major bus station. This really deserves 5 stars for a hostel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a boozy weekend with a friend. Staff were brilliant Australian fella called paddy and a Canadian girl. Also a little bulldog who's part of the staff! The room wasn't the best but the people the atmosphere and how homely it felt made up for that! Probably the best hostel I've stayed in and would love to stay again has a brill time!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostelbopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place is worth every penny, It has a pool table, foosball, great kitchen with all the basic facilities there.

The staff are very warm and friendly. Recommended to everyone. Rooms have lockers so just carry a lock with you and you are sorted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touring_ravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just back from a great stay in the Global Village hostel, super friendly guys running it, very chilled and relaxed atmosphere, super cool place - would stay here over any hotel in Belfast. Thank you Brett and Fox for your hospitality! - Ash

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash_maguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Clean hostel, friendly staff. Comfortable place to stay while in Belfast.

Location is good. Lots of pub & cafes around it. City town hall and shopping is 10 minutes walk.

Definately would recommend :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here this weekend, 4 girls for a weekend in the city. We looked into hotels/apartments but everything was crazy expensive! We were worried about staying in a hostel because we have never done it before, but for £15 a night we thought we'd give it a bash! Sure be good craic! We were so so impressed by the hostel, the bedrooms were clean (with cages under the bed to fit a small Irish girl), the bathrooms were immaculate with no queues. Brett the hostel owner was a legend - made sure we were all happy and even ordered us pizza (with 20% off) at 3am - what a babe! Only a 10 minute walk to the centre, and less than £5 home from the clubs. Will definitely stay again & recommend. We miss you already Brett :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,324 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village

Property: Global Village
Address: 87 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Global Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing