We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, superb location”
The Linen Room (Master Bedroom), King-size bed with en suite and views of Belfast Lough - May Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Linen Room (Master Bedroom), King-size bed with en suite and views of Belfast Lough - May Lodge
Exterior of our beautiful Gate Lodge - May Lodge The Linen Room  Ladies' Dressing area - May Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Linen Room (Master Bedroom), King-size bed with en suite and views of Belfast Lough - May Lodge
Exterior of our beautiful Gate Lodge - May Lodge
The Linen Room  Ladies' Dressing area - May Lodge
The Linen Room spacious luxurious en suite with walk-in shower area with top quality powerful shower
The Calico Room, a bright sunny room with standard double bed with stunning print of calico flowers.
The Cotton Room, a delightful twin-bedded room with views towards May Lodge 'secret'  garden.
The Cotton Room dressing area
Sitting Room: a bright spacious room furnished in a contemporary manner with light oak furniture.
Sitting Room: bright and spacious furnished with contemporary light oak furniture
Bathroom recently refurbished with shower over bath
Kitchen :Bright and spacious with luxury 'white goods' and top quality cooking utensils.
Dining Room: Links directly off the sitting room and maintains the complementary light oak theme.
Pleasant views towards Belfast Lough from terrace
Picnic area in 'secret' garden.
Gazebo in May Lodge 'secret' garden
May Lodge Hall
Welcome Pack
The Linen Room:  Views over the main garden towards Belfast Lough
Hallway May Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RussTrave...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, superb location”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here for a week in July 2013 when the weather was good. Staying in the lodge was like staying in a family home, with all facilities and a really friendly owner who would do anything for you. The quality of the furnishings was excellent. The location is close to the shore (private access) and close to some shops and restaurants, with easy bus access to Belfast.
We had a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this complimentary review - both of us greatly appreciate this. I'm so pleased that you, your wife and son enjoyed your stay with us and hope we shall see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the cold
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you and your friends stay here in May Lodge and I'm so glad that you also enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for the chocolates and flowers which you left for me when you left!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LimList
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Great location. Only took 15 mins to get to East Belfast. Very convenient for shopping centre (including M&S). We loved the access to the shore and cycle path. Well equipped.
One slight quibble is there is only one bathroom; for 6 guests; 2 toilets would have been better.
We did find it disturbing that the owners came in while we were out (ostensibly to collect the visitor book) as we felt that we were paying enough to ensure privacy.
There was a dirty towel in our bedroom but I'm sure that was an oversight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Most of it
Liked least: The owner coming in when we weren't there
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary remarks on May Lodge and for awarding us the top rating of 5 for 'excellent'. Certainly we are getting wonderful feedback on the location and facilities. Your comments are all noted. I would like to reassure you that I treat my visitors' privacy with utmost concern and I have never entered the house when they weren't there without prior notice. I like to greet visitors within an hour or so of their arrival, and at this stage I left the Visitors Book with you and explained that, as we were heading off on holiday ourselves on Sunday evening, I would collect it around 6p.m. You kindly left it on the hall table so I was simply able to collect it without entering the house. I do my utmost to make my guests' visit perfect and do hope that this didn't spoil the wonderful occasion of your Mother's 90th Birthday celebrations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerHuesca...
Huesca, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A truly peaceful haven in the midst of a buzzing city”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

It really does what it says on its 5* label and more...My family´s recent three-week stay at May Lodge was full of pleasant surprises including a wonderfully fitted-out kitchen, wi-fi, digital tv, a food processor, comfy beds, your own private patio with gazebo included, a 5-minute walk from the train station with commuter trains running every 15 mins. to Belfast and many more. We combined work, study and sightseeing during our stay at this superb location and where we could practically see the Titanic quarter from one of the bedrooms, albeit on tip-toes. But perhaps the best surprise was the private path leading onto the beachfront coastal walk. Rosemary and John were knowledgeable and helpful hosts and we even got a chance to see John, one of Ireland´s most renowned bronze sculptors at work.... what more could you ask for? We will definitely be back......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“May Lodge is a Belfast gem”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Our stay at May Lodge was absolutely delightful and we would not hesitate to return for another visit. We enjoyed being near the ocean, a short drive from downtown Belfast and the amazing Titanic Museum (not to be missed!). We were also less then 5 minutes in the car to shopping, making it easy to stock up for our stay. The cottage was well appointed, with a fully equipped kitchen, lovely bedding and ample living space. This would be a great place for a family or some friends off on a golf holiday.

What made our stay most special were our hosts, Rosemary and John, and their friend Mike, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were greeted with Rosemary's fruit loaf and tea upon our arrival and Mike generously shared his time to help us learn first hand about Belfast - both its history and its golf courses.

We couldn't recommend May Lodge highly enough. One thing to note, though, if you are coming by car. The turn off is a bit tricky, so ask Rosemary for driving instructions from Belfast or the airport and you won't waste any time arriving at this wonderful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location was great
Liked least: Driving on the other side of the road!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$897
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing