We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on Sunday 25th August. He booked it as a birthday treat for myself as I’d always fancied staying here.

Our stay was fine, however neither of us were really blown away by the experience and we were expecting it to be nicer having seen the pictures on their website and considering it’s described as a 4 star, luxury boutique hotel! We found it to be a bit tired and worn around the edges and our room a little plain . Also the corridors leading to the rooms are narrow, extremely dark with inadequate lighting and the carpet is in need of being replaced.

We were assigned room 202 which looked onto the courtyard of the premises and faced the kitchen. This meant there wasn’t much of a view from the window and there was a constant loud hum from what we presumed to have been the kitchen extractor units or heating system. This kept us awake a good proportion of the night resulting in neither of us getting the most restful night’s sleep or the relaxing experience we’d hoped for. There was also a smell of food from the kitchens present in the room during the evening/next morning and we could hear bottles from the bar being disposed of by staff early the next morning.

Another niggle was the fact the shower was also not particularly hot either of the times myself or my partner used it and the shower fixture was temperamental at best. Also the one tiny bottle of shampoo and shower gel that were provided between us was inadequate.

Neither of us could get the apparently free Wi-Fi to work either.

However, we were happy with the size of the room, it was quite spacious, the layout was decent and the bed large and quite comfortable. There were also a few nice touches provided including bathrobes, slippers, a heated towel rail and copy of the Ulster Tatler. A kettle with a plentiful selection of tea and coffee an iron, ironing board and safe were provided and proved useful. However there was no fridge or mini bar present in our room.

The location of the hotel is good with a large variety of shops and entertainment within walking distance and an onsite restaurant and bar. However the hotel doesn’t have its own parking facilities which may prove problematic for some people.

Overall this hotel seems okay as a base for an evening out in Belfast but I’m not sure its somewhere we’d use again for a special occasion or for more than one night. There are better options for that in Belfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    263
    51
    31
    33
See reviews for
160
520
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ten Square is a good little hotel in a great location. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne and offered helpful advice about booking tours. The bedroom and bathroom were of a very high standard. The location is perfect, right opposite City Hall and within walking distance of most downtown attractions. The market just along the street was a great spot for picking up a light bite to eat. There was a lively looking bar and restaurant downstairs, but we were only there for one night and already had tickets to the Belsonic music festival, so didnt get a chance to try them out. Breakfast was good value - a cold buffet and a cooked menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a meal prior to some hen night madness!! We were warned that it was a two hot turn over and This made us slightly peeved but how and ever when it actually came round to it we didn't feel us ushered out in any way! The food was excellent , huge protons so value for money ! They didn't mind us having our hen stud with us once we were wary of the other diners! I think Barbara the waitress deserves a special mention as for us she stood out- didn't stop working, curtious and constantly making sure we were all full up and happy! Defo come back ere for food

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nomadchicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic stay had by all in my group over a busy weekend !!
Greeted with champagne at reception and had bags taken to room while are room was being inspected, Was a lovely way to greet guests in this smaller hotel with very personal service.
Rooms where lovely too and beds so comfy,
Breakfast was fantastic with a lovely fry all grilled and also a selection of cheese, bread and juices on offer .
Staff where excellent too throughout the hotel.
All in all a great weekend was had and will def stay again in Ten Square Belfast !!

Room Tip: It was my Birthday so we where upgraded to a corner suite which was lovely with 2 windows both looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are loyal stayers of another luxury hotel in Belfast but thought we would try somewhere different and what a choice we made!! The staff from Receptionists to the waiters/waitresses had fantastic customer service skills and could not do enough for us from start to finish! The room was beautiful. Our package included dinner and breakfast and the food was gorgeous ( although my husband did miss beans from the breakfast but that was our only complaint!). Our loyalty has definately reverted to this hotel for Belfast stays in future....just wish we had of stayed more than 1 night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

After 2 weeks of staying in a variety of hotels, we weren't expecting much (especially being right in the centre). We were pleasantly surprised to find this hotel was excellent. The front desk was very helpful. We had lots of bags and there was an elevator. We found parking for our rental car right outside the hotel. It was a huge room with a lovely bathroom. And a nice king sized bed. There was even a hardcover book that explained all about Belfast. There wasn't breakfast included so we just walked down the street and had it at the St. George's Market. Would definitely recommend this to others and stay here again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fantastic stay. Welcomed by Catherine who was so lovely and helpful. Our bags were taken to the room and we were given a drink to enjoy in the lobby. Meal that night was included in the deal and was delicious. The restaurant was lively and our waitress was very attentive, making sure everything was ok. The twin room was huge with White Company toiletries and although hot it was quiet even with a wedding party taking place. Breakfast the next morning was very good with a choice of continental and full Irish. Hot breakfast was cooked fresh to order. There is a pool and gym at the fitness centre close by that residents of the hotel can use at a reduced rate.We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the street if you want a quiet room. We had a corner room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Property: Ten Square
Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing