We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding”
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Family Wedding”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Lots of lovely memories came flooding back when we attended a family wedding here today as probably 8/9 years ago it was the place to go in Belfast for the fine dining restaurant (top chef Niall McKenna now of James Street South) and private club swiping card to gain entry mmhh.. However those days have passed and this was our first occasion back. It was simply a wonderful day with family and friends and though the timing of the food was a little late, it was still jolly good - duck rolls to begin with lovely little Asian salad, followed by Sea bass, wish I had chosen the roast beef however lol, too late......and then a lovely little dessert to finish....nice chilean wines to accompany....all in all good place to have a wedding reception I would suggest.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    267
    56
    32
    33
See reviews for
163
534
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ten Square prices are probably average for a good restuarant in Belfast, but the food is great quality

I would recommend the fish and chips or scamp and chips - portions are huge and is served in a newspaper - takes me back to a kid! Steak is also very good, and the chicken kebab comes out on a hanger!

Recommend this place :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphrodite P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in great location, magnificent period building sensitively modernised and central setting just behind city hall. I found the hotel staff both helpful and friendly and rooms (mine was a "cosy") comfortable and spacious. Would definitely visit again, this time in a leisure capacity and would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oiscondai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ok we just to live here, so knew about the Hotel location etc.
We stayed for 3 nights in April , was bloody cold outside , but real cosy inside.
Staff check in was excellent , friendly & helpful.
Room was fab , view of City hall .Bathrobes , slippers etc .
We shared the platter in bar , was great. would recommend.
Again all the staff was great ,
Would def stay again when back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrocks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a few times now. And mostly on my own while here on business. When travelling alone I don't mind having a drink alone standing at the bar. But eating is different. It's a little weird sitting alone in a place - and people stare. This place works for me. Really nice welcome, good food and knowledgable bar staff. I recommend the Bang Bang chicken. I can imagine having a too night out here.

Will be here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Marquis_of_Salisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I did not have the pleasure of staying in this hotel, but I ate/drank in the bar over the weekend. There was a great buzz about the hotel, it was busy but not crazy. Location is spot on, you couldnt ask for better in the city centre. We stopped for a couple of drinks, got 2 nice seats at the bar. We ordered a platter to share (which came on a high tea display) which was delicious. One comment I would like to make is about the barman, called "Conor K", he was a pleasure to watch work - he checked every single glass before he poured a drink into it, to make sure it was clean! I don't recall ever seeing a barman so particular. He was constantly shining up the glasses before he served them which never delayed his service might i add. And had lovely banter for all the guests. On our next trip to the city we will definitely be booking into Ten Square!

Room Tip: did not stay in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I treated my Fiance to a night away in Belfast in February. I booked this hotel largely based on the positive reviews on this site and while the hotel itself lived up to expectations our stay was ruined by noisy hen party staying on the same floor. They made a lot of noise in the wee hours and when asked nicely if they could keep the noise down they were abusive. At one stage we had a drunk hen wonder into our room as the hotel still uses old fashioned lock and keys and having had to get up in the middle of the night to ask them to keep quiet I omitted to re-lock the door from the inside.
We complained the following morning and the hotel did deal with the complaint appropriately by apologising and offering a complimentary lunch the next day, however I couldn't help feel that we were cheated out of a Romantic night away. Hotels should plan their room allocations according to types of guests staying and put groups such as these together away from other guests.
Apart from a bad nights sleep I can report that room was lovely and big with comfy bed and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenSquareHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your stay at Ten Square Hotel.

At Ten Square we are passionate about our customer service and the experience we deliver to our guests.

Regrettably on this occasion your experience did not meet up to the expectations of our hotel, I have taken the liberty of discussing your comments with the managers and the necessary action has been taken to reassure that there is no repetition in the future.

On a more positive note, I was delighted to read that your room was lovely and our breakfast was excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ten Square Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Property: Ten Square
Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing