We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispy Chips Champion!”
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
Ranked #109 of 1,049 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Crispy Chips Champion!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and kids have been raving about the chips from Cafe Fish for years but it wasn't until last week that I had the real experience myself. We picked up a take away for fish and pastie suppers to eat at home. Even with the transport in the car the chips were the crispiest, chippy chips ever. The battered fish was beautiful and the pastie had just the right of white pepper to make it my sort of spicy. Fantastic chippie! Now I know why people travel from far and wide to have their Cafe Fish Fix!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurpleKim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    26
    7
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N.Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, highly recommended!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Party of five ate on Saturday evening, we were quickly shown to a table and our order was taken promptly and efficiently. Food was quick to arrive and absolutely delicious, definitely the best fish and chips in Belfast!!
Staff were very attentive and checked on us regularly. At approx £10/ head it was incedidible value, just need an excuse to return now!!! Thanks for a lovely meal x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rjm_belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boom Best Chippie by Miles!!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chicken Bites with Pepper Sauce... Can't beat it. Chips are UNREAL

Had Fish Bites and received what I thought were 4 whole fish. Totally top notch.

Mostly go during lunch which far cheaper and less of a queue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordy188888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sit Down or Take Out”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

They just opened a sit down across the street from the take out. I ate at the sit down and it was excellent. The sauce for the onion rings was original with just the right tang and the haddock was done perfectly. Much better than other places where management is complacent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank godago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I went on high praise from friends who were really impressed with Cafe Fish and I wasn't disappointed! The chips are lively and not greasy, the portions are massive and meals automatically come with bread and butter which is a big plus in my book!

The highlight is definitely the staff, we were asked twice if there was anything they could do, they're incredibly friendly. The only aspect that I didn't expect was the lack of atmosphere. We went at about 7.30pm on a Saturday night and it was only about half full but that just makes the already speedy service quicker!

Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newjerseysuccesstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing