We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of House of Zen

House of Zen
Ranked #94 of 1,043 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cocooned in the Heart of the Cathedral Quarter is the newest addition to the Zen Restaurant Group, the Cool and Elegant House of Zen. The House of Zen blends a little bit of The Orient into the Traditional cobbled streets and cosy bars of the Cathedral Quarter in Belfast.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant is pretty new in town and is in the very popular cathedral quarter. It is situated in a plaza type setting which wouldn't look out of place in Rome! There is a good sized outdoor area as well for when the warm summer nights are here.

The restaurant itself is very stylish. Dark and atmospheric. Beautiful decor. The menu has something to suit everyone and prices are very reasonable. this restaurant and its sister one, Zen, both attract many stars when they are in town. I was last there on 13th January and there was a well known television chef dining there!

the cocktails have to tried to be believed!! I had a black cosmopolitan which isn't on the cocktail menu but they were more than happy to make it for me.

The sister restaurant Zen used to be my favourite one in town and now this one has opened I have 2 favourites! I wont wait for an excuse to go back here and intend to visit it again very very soon and on a regular basis

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grannywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    124
    51
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in Belfast at the minute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Food is great, restaurant has great décor and staff are very helpful and friendly.


Menu is very good using tradition dishes with an orient twist! Would recommend this to all!
This is another great addition to the Zen family

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic NYE Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My friends and I spent our New Years in House of Zen - with the 7-course menu with Cava and cocktails. Entertainment throughout the night was absolutely fantastic and we all had so much fun. The food was really good and by the time our delicious ribs and poussin arrived we were so full we could barely eat them! Really relaxed, enjoyable evening with a great atmosphere and very attentive staff - will definitely be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went to House of Zen on Saturday night. First of all the decor of the restaurant is lovely, very modern. There was four of us and we were met by friendly staff who showed us to a booth. We ordered cocktails and they were excellent. The wine list was very good too. We had the Italian house wine which was lovely. The food was excellent and good size portions. All four of us will definately be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billybonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

i was in with my friend we had 2 starters that just melted in the mouth, and the mains has so much flavour, staff were very attentive and helpful. Unusual decor in a good way created great atmosphere. I will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Zen also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to House of Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing