We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint settings, friendly service”
Review of L'Etoile

L'Etoile
Ranked #309 of 1,073 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint settings, friendly service”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dined here recently with my partner on the recommendation of a colleague.
This restaurant has 'hidden gem' written all over it. Don't let the exterior fool you, this bring your own (wine) eatery has a wonderfully quaint feeling to it where you can imagine you're sat in a stereotypical lil' old French lady's living room enjoying frog's legs and fine wine.
Food was 4/5 for quality and value for money and our server was bubbly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PincodeMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    57
    22
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best bistro in Belfast”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This dining experience is unique in Belfast. It is cramped, loud French music and fantastic food and service. We have being going here for years and it is always a great night. They do the best steaks in Belfast. Great starters which are just the right portion size. Their mains have remain unchanged for a long time but you can always rely on enjoying what you get. the atmosphere is the key to it all. It is noisy and all types of peoplke are there - just like a real Parisien bistro.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mocarrollBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb, authentic French cuisine”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

L'Etoile has not changed their menu for years for the simple reason that it does not need to. Classic French food, incredibly tasty and a great little restaurant: don't let the uninspiring restaurant front put you off, it has a gorgeous atmosphere inside. Prices are a tiny bit on the expensive side, but every bit worth it, and the staff are very pleasant and passionate about their food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gflennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Storming of the Bastille”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

In fairness, I thought that the Bastille on the Lisburn Road was going to keep the crown of the best French restaurant in Belfast , but I have to say that last night L'Etoile WAS the star.

I went with my girlfriend for a quiet evening meal on Saturday night, having booked the previous evening, expecting that the place might be half-full at best, as there appeared to be only ten tables (estimate!) in the place. We arrived at 7pm (2 sittings per night, 7 and 9) and the place was full (and there's an upstairs, which was full as well)!!!

We were greeted by a jovial Frenchwoman who showed us to our table and provided us with a decent-sized menu, which covered most bases for those people who enjoy trying something different each time they eat.

The interior is bistro-style French, with a plethora of postcards, wall-plaques and reproduction paintings all on a French theme, and with some gentle French music (think Edith Piaf and La Vie en Rose) in the background. So... French, then.

We were pretty hungry so decided on three courses! My girlfriend had Goat's Cheese salad, and I went for Frogs' Legs... No, don't be put off at all - think chicken, with a hint of gaminess. Try it, for it's worth it. All in all, both starters were outstanding.

For the main course, it was Swordfish with an assortment of vegetables and garlic potatoes, and then Chicken in a wine-based sauce with tobacco onions and mashed potatoes. Again, excellent.

Dessert was ice-cream (a trio) and the best Creme Brulee I've ever tasted, dot.

This place was great, and the staff were pleasant throughout the meal, never too rushing, or aloof at all. And on top of everything, the cost for a three-course meal for two was very surprising (in a good way!).

The only thing to mention is that it's not licenced, however, there is an outstanding off-licence called the Vineyard very close by, so bring your own if you wish, and enjoy a meal at L'Etoile!

..can't believe no one has reviewed this place before... Maybe they wanted to keep it a secret...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spikey2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I love this place....first of all it's BOYB, which saves a lot and means you can drink the wine you want.

The menu never seems to change (even the specials are always the same) but I cannot fault the dishes that they do serve. Service is always friendly, quick and not all pushy. Just be aware how big some of the starters can be (especially the cheese ones), to me this is a good complaint.

The decor is "rustic" and so if you are expecting a very posh restaurant this is not for you, but the atmosphere is great, it is always busy and I have heard no complaints from the 10's of people I have brought there for a meal.

Great for romantic meals, family meals, group/party meals

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fudoc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etoile also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to L'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing