We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive indeed!”

Stena Superfast VIII
Ranked #25 of 223 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Impressive indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The first time we tried this, we didn't know what to expect and was quite impressed at how huge it is with its modern facilities. Food was quite expensive though but it's convenient. In the middle the sea, the WiFi eventually stops working and I'm not sure whether it's the location or the number of people connecting. Toilets are clean and there is never a line. There are even TVs in the restrooms! For the two-hour ride to Cairnryan, you really won't get bored here especially if you happen to be with the joyful Celtics fans. I have since brought in-laws, parents, family and friends to Scotland by ferry and they were all impressed by this ferry. This is really the way to go when travelling to Scotland.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LuieLuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    79
    25
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This new ship is excellent. We paid the extra £20 for the suite which is great with en suite shower, bed, lcd tv and complimentary tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits which would cost this amount anyway. For ten pounds you can enjoy the spa jacuzzi. The standard of food in the cafe is very good and there is also a cinema, soft play area, and barista on board. A relaxing and enjoyable way to spend two hours travelling to Scotland.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The Superfast Suite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is one great ferry for crossing from Northern Ireland to Scotland, leaving Belfast regularly, with a short journey time of just over 2 hours. There is really no comparison with the main competitor as the Superfast ferry has all you could want, including a Jacuzzi, Stena Plus lounge and suite if you don't mind paying some extra money.

This was now the second time i had used the suite, which comes with complimentary tea, coffee and water, has a television and en suite shower and toilet. The first time I used it, I was mightily impressed. On this occasion, it was disappointing to note that there was a lot of noise from groups of young people who were on a school trip, and obviously they were keen to explore the ship and view its facilities. Needless to say, this did not bide well for a good night's sleep.

I was also surprised that one of the quirks of the en suite is that when you use the shower, the drain is slow, with the result that you can end up with standing water in the shower tray and the floor area of the en-suite.

Overall, the ship is highly recommended, and the staff very friendly and helpful. On this occasion, the experience in the suite could have been better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Belfast to Cairnyan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

An exceptional trip across to Cairyan, paid a little extra for Premium which entitled us to a free breakfast and exceptional seating with windows facing out to the ocean. Free wifi on board. Vessel extremely clean and comfortable. Trip across to Cairnyan is just over 2 hours. We then went by bus up to Ayr and then by train onto Glasgow. I had booked by train ticket through Stena from Glasgow up to Edinburgh so the trip from Belfast to Edinburgh cost me only 52 pounds this included the upgrade to Premium on the vessel. A wonderful way to travel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Oaks, Minnesota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quick Big Boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Belfast to Scotland could have been very boring. But this quick ferry made the crossing the best I have ever had. Upgraded to Club Class and had a very good quite experience. Computers available as well as food and beverages. A very good bargain if you want to make the crossing an adventure

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stena Superfast VIII also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Stena Superfast VIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing